We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistant Service and Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inconsistant Service and Facility”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

NOTE: we were in the cabanas not the tower: We had reduced rates for rooms with beautiful beachfront views. Rooms were from antiquity in desperate need of re-do (plumbing varied from normal to barely working), grounds were beautiful, service sporadic in facilities (Starbucks random opening and available products), exercise room (out of water cups for 5 days, could not access sanitary wipes to clean equipment), ALL of the soft drink machines were empty for 5 days. The ATM did not work entire stay. Food in Beachcomber restaurant was good and well priced but the service personnel while very charming are not very professional. Nice gift shop with reasonable prices but only open from 8 to 5. One really crazy - most of the rooms have adjoining doors to open as suites if necessary - you might as well open them anyway since they are thin foam core and allow even low conversations to be overheard. Don't worry if you gave up smoking and miss it, the people on the patio next to you will provide all the smoke you need since each patio comes equipped with an inviting ashtray. Housekeeping can be potluck.
Bottom line: beautiful pool, grounds and beach access but facilities are two star at best and personnel, while extremely nice, do not provide quality service. To add insult, the parrots in the lobby screech so loud you have difficulty having a conversation with front desk. BIG NOTE there is no complimentary coffee in the rooms and have to go the Beachcomber -- if it is raining, the cabanas do not have covered access to the main building (restaurant, coffee) - the walk there and back can be 1/4 mile in rain. Overall: not an unpleasant stay but far from excellent property it could be. Would rule out as a business meeting venue.

Room Tip: They will let you see rooms: look for connecting rooms with thin doors (unless sound is not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking your time and giving us your review on your recent stay. We apologize for your inconveniences. We will use your review for training purposes to improve our services. All concerns will be addressed and resolved in a timely manner. We do offer room service so our guests do not have to leave their comfort of their room (ex: early morning coffee). Ashtrays are offered on the patio to assist on keeping smoking guest from smoking in the room and keeping the cigarette buds off the property grounds. We will always keep reinvesting and remodeling the hotel, especially since we are a beachfront property. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    205
    126
    85
    85
See reviews for
342
213
11
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I booked two cabana rooms supposedly right on the beach according to staff and pictures. Unfortunately, you could not see the beach or Gulf due to huge sand dunes in front of place.
The TV did not work, there was no coffee pot or micro in room, mattresses were stained but worst
of all, the Smell! It was moldy and no amount of air freshener could mask that smell. Checking in
there was only one clerk who answered phone five times before taking care of us. Staff extremely unfriendly. The bug man walked in on sister just as she got out of shower, saying he was told room empty. Lawn was being cut at 9am in morning in front of condo. I paid the premium price for these rooms because they are suppose to be the best. Except for the location of this property on South Padre, there is nothing else to recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dme-0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a cabana. Location and grounds were very nice. Room was clean and spacious with balcony. Our only negative comments would be the plumbing in the sink and shower. Really needs attention faucet almost pulling out of sink. Isla Grand has been here for more than 50 years. Having stayed in other beach towns older properties are common. I would stay here again. Also restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiegaye14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great property featuring cabana type rooms as well as rental privately-owned condominiums. We stayed in a condominium and were impressed with all of the renovations that have been done in the last few years. Since our visit 5 years ago, kitchens and baths have been upgraded and most recently HD TV service and wireless internet throughout. A major renovation of pool area featuring zero entry and state of the art lighting at night. Windjammer Restaurant offered great quality and reasonably-priced food with a wonderful view--day or night. Quarterdeck Bar provided great live entertainment with no cover charge and only an elevator ride back to our room. Staff was most helpful with questions and requests. Only adverse comment we heard was from a lady on the elevator who had rented privately and was denied access to ice machine, laundry, fitness center etc. so would recommend renting directly from Isla Grand or at least check with them to make sure if renting online that it is approved by Isla Grand to prevent disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

the staff at this place are just bold face liars! had reservations for 2 months in advanced. stop at hotel to confirm the reservations 2 weeks in advance. When my guest arrived the staff said they had given the rooms to some other people. Do NOT waste your time or money on this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wally1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE! I wish I could give negative stars for this place. I never write reviews, even if I have had bad experiences. First, I never received a confirmation email after they charged me. Not sure if they even send those out, I emailed them to send me one in case they had my email wrong. Never heard back from anyone. Second, our battery to our door apparently wasn't working after we got back from dinner. We had to run up to the front desk three different times, which is not a super short distance if you're staying in a cabana by the beach. After an hour of being locked out, we got in. At this point it is past midnight. Next, I had a Valentines Day package that I never received. While we were locked out, I asked if I was going to eventually get my package. They informed me I was supposed to get it when I checked in. By now, there were two managers (or at least they appeared to be managers) that were pretty much helpless, apologizing for their mistake and inconvenience. I was told my package would be right up, and after waiting about another half hour I called the front desk to just forget it and cancel. It was a long day of traveling, and I did not want to be up until 2 AM waiting for that package. Didn't really matter I guess because I was AWAKEN at 2 or 3 in the morning from the front desk, asking if I had called them about the Valentines Day package I didn't get. NO, I did not! They had mistaken calling my room, for a different room. Really? "Sleep Number" beds don't work either. One last thing. There are sad and depressed parrots in the lobby that were screeching like they are in agonizing pain. If there is a long wait, hope you are not hung over when checking out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

You never know what you are going to get when the units are individually owned, and we were pleasantly surprised! Stayed in room 909 and it was really good. Clean, uncluttered and everything worked. All of the staff was very friendly and responsive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JayHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,487 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
610 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing