We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weekend Getaway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

First time staying here and the location was great. We stayed on the 12th floor and the view was fabulous! The front desk staff was courteous, not very personable but that's ok.

Our room was just ok. I was not pleased with the kitchen tools as the can opener was old, rusted and dirty. Was actually a little disgusted and didn't use it. It just didn't seem like they take any pride in cleanliness. The master bath had a toilet paper roll that was once wet and dried hard on the roll. Being so close to the toilet, it was hard not to imagine it fell in there and still just put back on the roll.

The Whiskey bar staff and the Hamburger stand workers were just rude. No customer service skills at all. Apparently they are not part of the hotel, just vendors but if I were the hotel I would have them abide by their standards. We just came back from Cancun so I guess they just set the bar high for pleasing the customer.

The pool and hot tub were filthy! I doubt the filters were working. The ocean water looked clearer than the hot tub. Disgusted!

Not sure I would really stay here again. Besides the location and view, I will probably opt to try something else next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baseballnut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    187
    116
    79
    78
See reviews for
318
195
10
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked our handicap room 6 weeks in advance, called the week of our arrival to confirm handicap room. Arrived to be told there were no handicap rooms available. Front desk manager refused to help us get a room nearby. Was told he didn't work for other hotels, couldn't assist us. We drove 4 hrs for our birthday/romantic get away for nothing. Next day received a call from General Manager apologizing for the 'mix up' and received all kinds of guarantees, been 2+ weeks nothing....can't rate room, sleep quality or any other only service, it was horrible.

Room Tip: don't expect a ADA room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The resort location and proximity to the beach is what made the vacation. Facility in general is a little dated but very clean grounds and rooms. We stayed in a pool side double room that was typically what was expected for that room type. What wasn't expected was the adjustable air mattresses and the two full size beds vs. not having queen size. The adjustable air mattresses were very uncomfortable and almost impossible for two people to share, unless they are the exact same size, weight and never move. We all found ourselves to be unbalanced while laying down to rest or sleep. My guess to those that are traveling alone, it would not be much of an issue. The pool area was very nice and the walk to the beach was spectacular. Plenty of water sport activity options right on your beach, for an additional cost. We went out for all our meals, so no comment on food at the resort.

Room Tip: 1st level room seems a lot easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went down to S Padre for 7 Days Vacation with a friend. Resort is well maintained, Grounds are beautiful and lawns manicured. Don't even have to leave the Resort if you don't want to. Has great niteclub w/ Live Music. The Band we saw numerous times during our stay was Groove, Inc. Excellent show whether you want to dance or just listen. Bryan, the frontman, was excellent w/his guitar and excitement. Drinks very generous. Good mix of Tourists and Locals. Swim and Tennis facilities nice. A few too many kids around the pool and hottub. Food is ok, especially around the pool. Good local restaurants deliver also. Only bad thing was the Recreational Watersports Booth Beachside named Sonny's. Guess they handle the JetSki, Parasail, Bananaboat rides for the Resort. They resceduled our prepaid parasailing trip twice after we had confirmed reservaions and set times. I cancelled on the third try and got a refund. Still, had to go down to the beach at scheduled time twice and stand around only to be told would have to reschedule another day. With the diving, fishings and others activities we were doing, it was quite an inconveinence. They could have called the room and left a message.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearsall, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything you want in one place. Restaurants, night life, swimming pools, fitness room and the beach. The staff was very friendly and the entertainment was fantastic! If you did want to leave the resort you never needed to get in your car. We found some great restaurants and shopping all within a couple of blocks. Very easy walking distance. We will definitely be coming back to Isla Grand. There is something for every age group here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It has been several years since we have stayed at Isla Grand and the improvements are noticeable. The room we stayed in did not look or feel dated, was clean, and very large. The restaurant for breakfast was outstanding and the service was excellent. The two swimming pools are beautiful but I wish the water had been cooler-it felt like a lukewarm bath late in the afternoon. One concern was the amount of debris on the pool's edge later in the afternoon-it was obvious the guests left it there and no one from the hotel stakk had bothered to clean it up. One word of advise-if you stay in a cabana and want to walk out of your room and straight into the pool or beach ask for the first floor. If you stay on the second floor you have to enter from the parking lot side and although you have a beautiful patio looking at the pool and ocean you have to walk and take stairs to get to the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here and we were very satisfied with appearance and access to beach. Only thing we would prefer as we have a large family is being able to have our own food and drinks under the umbrella tables outside of the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Isla Grand Beach Resort. Im very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and also enjoyed our wonderful rooms and view. We do allow food and drinks under the gazeebos as long as they are not alcoholic drinks and they are not in an icechest. We do apologize if there was some kind of confusion or misunderstand on that matter. We really appreciate you taking time out of your day to share your experience with us.We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing