We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We did not stay at this resort but we did go to have breakfast. We loved it!! Price was not bad and the food was delicious. Presentation & service are at their best!!! Resort looked clean & staff readily available to help their guest. Will consider staying here on our next SPI visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Soria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    198
    123
    81
    82
See reviews for
333
204
11
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Tx.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

WE had 45 of us go there last September and had so much fun that 35 of us are going back this coming Sept. 2013 for a 4 day trip
The food at the Hotel is great and down the way Louies is also great
Pier 19is good for lunch & margaritas.
We also had a good time on the beach and the water was so clear you could be chest deep & still see your feet.

Room Tip: The food at the Hotel is great and down the way Louies is also great Pier 19is good for lunch &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Isla Grand Beach Resort. We are very glad to see you enjoyed your last stay with, and even more glad to see that you will be joining us again here in the near future. We can assure you we have only gotten better since your last stay and that you will enjoy your stay with us again. Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in a beach front room which truly was at the sand dune line facing the beach. The room was perfect for sitting on the balcony and watching the beach crowd. Although clean, the decor and furnishing of our room was very tired, had a musty smell and is really in need of an updating. The room had a bar with a sink and small refrigerator, but no coffee pot. However, there was free coffee in the Windjammer Restaurant - a long walk from our room. In fairness, the room was right on the beach and all the cleaning in the world was not going to help improve the musty smell much because of the overwhelming amount of humidity coming from the Gulf. The decor and popcorn ceiling is another story. Our room was too far from the Wi-Fi router to pick up an Internet signal.

Everyone at the resort was very friendly and helpful, especially the staff at the Windjammer Restaurant. We chose the Isla Grand because it had everything on site that we needed - restaurants (a nice sit down restaurant inside and a grill outside near the pool, beautiful landscaped grounds and swimming pools, tennis courts, bars (inside and outside at the pool), live entertainment, a coffee shop, close access to the beach and a fitness center. You could spend your entire vacation on-site without having to leave for anything. Very kid friendly.

Positives:
• friendly and helpful staff
• excellent restaurant (Windjammer)
• beautiful landscaping and pool
• close access to beach (no dunes between resort and beach)
• poolside bar and grill
• live entertainment
• safe (saw kids and families out until late at night)

Negatives:
• tired decor (at least our beach front room was)
• no coffee pot in room and long walk for free coffee in restaurant
• poor or no Internet connection (at least from beach front rooms)
• small and tight parking spaces, especially in the parking lot toward the back

Room Tip: choose a beachfront room only if you can put up with smell and humidity that comes from having a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 451DennisM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked in on Thursday, 7/25 and checked out on Sunday, 7/26. Our family travels ALOT, so we are probably considered "hotel snobs" but we let the staff know that when we checked in. We booked a 2 bed/ 2 bath condo. According to the staff all of the condos are individually owned so they can't guarantee that the rooms are all updated the same. Our first room had a wonderful view,a wrap-around balcony, granite countertops however the fridge was old and the furniture was dated. Based on the price we paid per night we requested another room, it took about an hour but Omar the manager accommodated our request. The condos have full kitchens with a stove/oven, flatware, cooking utensils, plates, glasses etc. All condos face the beach, pools and tennis courts.
We stopped in Port Isabel to purchase snacks, bottled water etc.

This hotel has full beach access, two pools, a pool bar, etc. the photos are an accurate depiction. The grounds are beautiful and clean.

It's extremely difficult to keep everything clean at a beachfront hotel so at the end of the day yes there is sand in the pool. No big deal, I've experienced the same in Jamaica, Cancun and Hawaii.

The staff throughout the hotel was extremely friendly and attentive. The buffet breakfast at the Windjammer was tasty and included made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage and pancakes.

We absolutely loved the hamburgers prepared at the grill by the pool! You gotta try them! Real charbroiled beef burgers!

Great location near restaurants like Gabriella's and Cap 'n Roy's!

Room Tip: Choose a condo room above the 4th floor for the best views, corner rooms have the wraparound balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadrunnerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Isla Grand Beach Resort. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that we did not satisfy you with the first condo. We have looked into that situation and are currently speaking to the owners on the updating of their condo. We hope you join us again on your next visit to South Padre Island. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived on the 5th of July at about 4PM. The room was not ready. Waited by the pool until about 5:30 when we were told our room was available. The room had a good view of the Gulf. The pool was nice. The internet would not work in our room nor would the sleep number. When several of these little things began to irritate me, I complained and received some coupons as compensation. Overall this resort was OK, but we were not wowed for the price and probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Isla Grand Beach Resort. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was just “OK”. Here at the Isla Grand Beach Resort we strive for the best experience and we sincerly apologize that you did not get that experience. We have already addressed all these issues with the proper department heads. Hopefully you will give us another chance on your next visit to SPI. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestoc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We are locals and wanted to spend the night the Island avoid the driving madness of weekends on So padre. So after double checking the reviews we took a plunge. We got a pool front 1st story room. Not bad for a beachfront property. Its on the water with agreat location. The pool is ok, ton of kids and families. The food.... we opted for outside restaurants and can't say much. The quart deck nightclub Is great for an older crowd ...flash back to the 70's and the drinks were good. It was crowded with lots of families and we still enjoued the beach and pool. The price is not great...but it's met our needs. The cleanliness level on the property is as has been described and the tubs take for ever to drain. Well bid we enjoy the weekend o. The Island...yes. Did we get a 4 star resort....but I. The 70's maybe ... today expect what what the reviiews state if you are used to great beachfront properties.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestoc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Awesome vacation got here Wednesday July 24 2013 and are checking out Sunday July 28,2013. I'm in a beach front condo,at the resort. The room is completely Updated with granite and sleep number beds. The food inside the resort restaurant has been awesome. The pool and outdoor bar and restaurant have also been flawless! The beach and fellow visitors to resort have also been extra nice! I plan to come back spring 2014 and will be booking my condo before I check out Sunday! I have nothing but praise for this resort, its older and done right! Book now!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing