We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family location with beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Balmorhea, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great family location with beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a condo unit on the 11 th floor. Wonderful view of the pools (2), shuffleboard, tennis courts, volleyball courts and beach. All appliances worked well, limited cooking equipment. Very well maintained pool and beach area. Rooms could use minor repairs and updating. Staff was friendly and helpful. check out beach towels at the front desk. Maids ran out of towels, get yours early-it was very busy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    207
    127
    86
    88
See reviews for
345
215
11
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meadows Place, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We played in an USAV girls junior volleyball tournament and the Isla Grand was the host hotel. We had a great stay right on the beach and the staff was very friendly and helpful with our stay. My family had a 2 bedroom condo with a great view from the 7th floor. They gave us a late check out with no charge which was helpful and let us enjoy a little more of South Padres charm, the beach! The condo had full kitchen and sleeps 6. We will stay there again when we go back.

Room Tip: Higher the condo the better the view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfdaddy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Big family went. Got 1 condo, 1 poolside rm, 1beachfront rm. very large property. Giant pool areas, shuffleboard ( yes we played) , tennis courts, and easy beach access right at the sidewalk. The beds were hard n our beachfront rm, the sleep # control didn't work, we bought a pillow at Walmart so id have one soft one. Still, it is a great complex that worked well for our party of 10 including 2 infants.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are a long way from the office, cafe, front area. Condos are multistory so gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclegrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Older hotel on the beach. The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice, the cleanliness between the beach and hotel was the only downfall. Keep it clean. The Bar is great with live music and fun atmosphere. The whisky shack makes great turbo banana coladas.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kknkrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This an e-mail I sent to the GM
"I hope this e-mail dose to the GM directly .
I have been traveling all my life worldwide , I stay usually in 4 and 5 stars hotels . The customer service I always get is very satisfying specially the check in process where services are usually is exceptionally good, it’s not the case with your hotel . You guys have the worst customer service , completely unprofessional and rude reception personal , even worse supervisor. For a $500 a night , I would expect far better service and treatment . I have no issues with the hotel as far amenities , Location and food , but definitely not the personal . I have been in the travel business for 13 years and If I am still in the travel business , I would never book your hotel to any one . You guys should be ashamed of yourself. I stayed in this hotel once when it was Radisson and though I would get the same customer service , but obviously I was wrong .

I was so happy to see other resorts are opening up so the $500 will be will spend next time

Room Tip: just don't go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 795Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

While the local is great, that is all you are truly paying for. The rooms and service are not worth the price of the room. I work in the hotel industry, and am sitting by the pool wondering how they call themselves a resort. While they do have all the amenities of a resort, the service is little to nothing. If this was my property I would renovate the staff before the rooms. I totally agree with the previous post, even at a la Quinta, you get a coffee maker and microwave in your room, heck you even get breakfast and they charge under a hundred dollars. For $250 in the off season, I would look else where.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyg_69ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We thought the room was ridiculously overpriced: $250 for a king size bed, small fridge (no microwave), outdated decor, intermittent wi-fi, and small balcony. There was not even a pad and pencil by the phone or in the room. But our granddaughter wanted to spend the night for her birthday. There are two pools. One is heated and the other is not. The girls were having a great time in the heated pool when there was an unfortunate incident. A toddler was in the pool and had an accident of the large floating kind. Management immediately emptied the pool and it was closed until the next morning. (They absolutely did the right thing.) The other pool was too cold, so they went down to the beach. They were going to play shuffleboard but the court is not lighted and it was close to dark at that time. We did request extra pillows and extra blankets which were delivered about three hours after the request. Our room was on the north side of the complex and parking was easily available. The room was very clean and my limited contact with staff was pleasant. But for $250 I expect some measure of luxury, not just nice grounds. In our case, the pool was not available (not the hotel's fault) and it was too late for other outside activities. Sooo, we will be checking other hotels on the island. The poor rating is NOT due to the pool accident. But it didn't help. The sleep number bed was nice. Did not check out the fitness center.

Room Tip: The hotel is located quite a ways back from the highway, so it is sheltered from road noise. The nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,506 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing