We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overall great except old outdated rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall great except old outdated rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great for families, service was good. Nice large pools roomservice was great. The only bad thing was the rooms for what we paid it was not worth it. The rooms were old outdated they looked like a cheap motel. There was a lizard in the bathroom. The beds were not sleep number they did not work. I would only stay there again if the rooms were remodeled.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leesey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    178
    108
    75
    76
See reviews for
306
178
10
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Upon entering the grounds you can see that, in its hayday, this facility used to be a wonderful place for families. Most of the facilities themselves are in generally good repair, though you can still smell the odor of old cigarettes in their now non-smoking rooms. The pool is decent (not heated) though the chairs and loungers are worn and there are relatively no jets in the hot tubs. Unfortunately, current managment and staff leave something to be desired in their manners and practices. We were there a total of 4 nights and had to call room service twice for more supplies/towels because the maids did not make it to our room for some reason. In addition, the front desk staff doesn't seem to know the answer to anything and tend to hang up on you abruptly when you ask for a wake up call or for shampoo and towels instead of saying, "Goodbye". Very strange.

The facility itself is tolerable, with Sleep Number beds and vinyl furniture in the rooms but also provided a small refrigerator and a safe. Unfortunately, the first few days were were there, a family of 6 were in the room next to us. The one saving grace is that there was a hopping little bar on the 2nd floor where they had live music and dancing. Interesting place. However, won't stay there again - if I stay on the island I'll stay at the LaQuinta, Hilton Garden Inn, or Pearl Hotel!

Room Tip: Parking available behind either side of separate rooms. Jumping weekend night club on 2nd floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband & I have been coming to this property since 1985. We come 4 - 5 times per year. The name has changed several times but the hotel staff and management has always provided over the top customer service. From Juan the Valet who has been there since in 1985 and welcomes us with open arms to the helpful front dest personal everyone makes it feel like our home away from home. Daniel & Agustin, property management always takes the time to visit and make sure that we are comfortable and do not want for anything. It is someplace we always look forward to visiting and each time we expericence consistant excellant accommodations, food service and who could forget Rick at the Whiskey Shack. We love this place and it is because of the people who make it a wonderful destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJHunter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel since we were attending a wedding. We had one of the bungalow rooms. This hotel was built in 1959 - it badly needs a refurbishing. We had a balcony which we couldn't enjoy because next to us, they drank, smoked, sang, and then sang loud again at 2:00 am in the morning for all to hear. Called security to check out and they did get her to stop. Next night, they just talked and drank all night. 10 or more cars were vandalized (like slashing of tires, etc. while we were here - fortunately, ours wasn't). Very crowded time of year. Hard to get around the city.
would never stay here again.

Room Tip: wouldn't get a bungalow, don't know about the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I attended with family who go every summer. The breakfast buffet was a smidge pricey but very worth it - delicious, fresh food & tons of choices, in a lovely setting looking at the ocean. The room we stayed in was light and airy, I believe all rooms were over looking the beach/ocean/pool area. The front balcony's were nice at night when the sun had gone down, I could see so much of the town lit up, and the night breezes were very nice. There were even fireworks one night :) The beach area is huge, the pool a little too warm but nice. There was a nice computer area to use & a gift shop.

Room Tip: Since all rooms have a balcony, that's already a plus. Each room also has a decent kitchen too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We here at the Isla Grand strive to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to servicing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Isla Grand has a lovely location right on the beach on South Padre Island. The grounds are lovely, with two pools and two sets of tennis courts right on the beach. There isn't much to dislike about the location. The rooms, though, are another matter entirely. This property, a former Radisson, is sorely neglected on the inside. The rooms are shabby and out of date with a mustiness that no amount of Febreeze can dispel. The air conditioner in the unit I was assigned was on its last legs and struggled just to remove humidity from the air. Cooling? Forget it. You can get good deals here, and if you're not particular about room quality you'll be fine. If you're sensitive to smells and need a decent mattress and air conditioning you'd do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are about 16 rooms right on the beach. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2muchstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on your stay. I want to apologize that you weren't completely satisfied. We have certain number of rooms still pending thier remodel so we can completely have our property completed. We are here to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay and we hope we can service you on our next trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Terrible front desk curiosity, security guards are rude as any security guards i have ever met. Have never been treated as poorly as I have at this hotel in my life. The worst and most terrible hospitality I have ever dealt with of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I know its a big spring break spot but as one of the few people that actually post on this I wouldn't, and will never stay here again. I will never recommend this to anyone, let alone even mention it to anyone trying to stay in south padre island. The best part of this joke of a hotel is the elevator guides that sit in the elevator all day. Worst hotel experience of my life

Room Tip: If you are not staying with grown adults do not even consider staying here as they treat you like se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time out to post a review. All of your concerns will be looked into and we apologize that you didn't have a great stay. Again thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing