We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome location but interiors need work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome location but interiors need work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Isla Grand has a lovely location right on the beach on South Padre Island. The grounds are lovely, with two pools and two sets of tennis courts right on the beach. There isn't much to dislike about the location. The rooms, though, are another matter entirely. This property, a former Radisson, is sorely neglected on the inside. The rooms are shabby and out of date with a mustiness that no amount of Febreeze can dispel. The air conditioner in the unit I was assigned was on its last legs and struggled just to remove humidity from the air. Cooling? Forget it. You can get good deals here, and if you're not particular about room quality you'll be fine. If you're sensitive to smells and need a decent mattress and air conditioning you'd do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are about 16 rooms right on the beach. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2muchstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on your stay. I want to apologize that you weren't completely satisfied. We have certain number of rooms still pending thier remodel so we can completely have our property completed. We are here to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay and we hope we can service you on our next trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    187
    116
    79
    78
See reviews for
318
195
10
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Terrible front desk curiosity, security guards are rude as any security guards i have ever met. Have never been treated as poorly as I have at this hotel in my life. The worst and most terrible hospitality I have ever dealt with of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I know its a big spring break spot but as one of the few people that actually post on this I wouldn't, and will never stay here again. I will never recommend this to anyone, let alone even mention it to anyone trying to stay in south padre island. The best part of this joke of a hotel is the elevator guides that sit in the elevator all day. Worst hotel experience of my life

Room Tip: If you are not staying with grown adults do not even consider staying here as they treat you like se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time out to post a review. All of your concerns will be looked into and we apologize that you didn't have a great stay. Again thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A group of my friends and I went down to South Padre for our spring break at the beginning of March. It was a great place for college spring break; lots of people, great bars/clubs, and really nice locals who'll help you find the hidden places the locals love. However, the front desk service at the hotel was absolutely terrible. They were rude, short, and very dismissive. One of our friends was unable to come at the last minute, and at one point the staff told us we would not be able to get in to our room if she didn't come. Also, checkout took an hour and a half so be prepared to wait if you're there for spring break. Overall the hotel was average but the atmosphere was insanely fun.

Room Tip: The condos in the Towers are the best for large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will be addressing your concerns with our staff. We here at the Isla Grand Beach Resort want to ensure that all of our guests enjoy not only their room but their entire stay. We look forward to servicing you again in the near future. We hope you enjoyed Spring Break On South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have never stayed at this hotel but had always heard good things about it. I was so very dissapointed when I walked into the three bedroom we got. I felt as if I had walked backed into the 70's. The comforters were dreadful flowery and so old. The bed so stiff. The rooms smelled old. The TV's in the room are the huge fat old Tv's. The furniture is so so old worn and scratched. The view from the balcony was the black roof top from the rest of the hotel. I will tell you what the room was so bad I opted to go sleep at a friends home. Two other couples were with us that night and they shared the same experience about their room as well. I understand this place charges crazy high rates during the summer, they really need to update their rooms and make it worth while. My room number was 301, warning..............pretty bad, won't ever stay there again nor recommend

Room Tip: sure wish I could have taken photos to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank annabel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

So after a lot of search on tripadvisor, we found Isla Grand. I was very skeptical about the Beach Front Room when I booked it, hoping it would be 'beach-front', and it was!:) However this was room 162 to 164..I dont think the rooms on the other end had the same awesome view.
Room: Beach Front, the balcony opens to the beach, which is kept fairly clean..so you can walk in directly from the beach..and enjoy the ocean view allll day long!
Pluses: -The view
-we luckily got a Valentines deal..so our stay was a little more economical with the one night and another night discounted at 50% off.
-the resort feel is good, you have plenty to do here or just relax, the landscape is lovely and inviting.
-the beachfront cafe is one of the nicest spots for an amazing view of the resort with the beach in the background.

Not such a plus:
-Service is not upto the mark, we had to call and follow up to get the champagne and strawberries which were complimentary
-The beds and bed covers seemed rundown...that was my biggest complaint, just couldnt get comfortable sleep, and bet you need that on a vacation:(
-The three rooms have inter connected doors! so pray that you dont have a noisy party across.

We would go back just for the view! not for the original price though, only if we get a good deal again.

Room Tip: Try the Beach front rooms 161/162/163 for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DivyaGupta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We were at South Padre Island in 2010 on vacation. It's the best area of Texas to see the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico! They had us on the top floor in center to the side facing the beach. The Hotel has a beautiful pool area right below there then a walk way that leads out to the beach! From our baloney we could watch the waves come in from the Gulf of Mexico! How grand!!! I took my sketch journal down to the beach & did a watercolor of the beach near by. Only bad thing to come out of this was that in my hurry to get there, I had forgotten I apply sunscreen on my legs & feet. It resulted in a major sun burn that I had trouble wearing shoes for a while!! But, I ended up with a great little watercolor sketch of the beach which I'll see if I can down load it on this site. But the hotel was a wonderful place to stay with fun & beauty just steppe away!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Isla Grand on January 13, 2013 for four nights. We have 9 month old twins and booked a 2 bedroom condo with the ocean view on the 9th floor. The view was amazing!! Our condo was so clean. We own/operate a Bed and Breakfast and we know what to look for when we stay away from home, and this place did not disappoint us. They were able to provide cribs for the twins. The towels and washcloths are soft and large. The shampoo, conditioner, and soaps in the bathroom were top of the line. We enjoyed the sleep number bed and the flat screen TV's.

This will now be our go to hotel when we travel to south Texas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemper Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing