We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Total Shock” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total Shock”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Last week we spent 3 nights at Isla Grand. We've stayed there many times before (as Radisson and also as Isla Grand). The bars and food are good, the staff is nice and it's right on the beach. But....while enjoying a cup of coffee in bed...a ROACH crawled up my arm!!! I could not believe it...roaches in the bed! When we told the front desk of the problem, instead of trying to make it better or promise to fix the problem, they handed us a tripadvisor "How was your visit?" card and asked me to review our trip. Well, with all the other great choices of lodging on S. Padre - Isla Grand will not be our choice in the future. Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time in informing us of your incident you encountered at our property. We have Ecolab as our pest control company and they have been notified as to your situation. Again we want to apologize for your experience and hope you give us a second chance in servicing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    175
    108
    75
    76
See reviews for
303
175
10
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hands down Isla Grand is the best resort/hotel on SPI. Great beachfront location, fabulous pool and pool side bar, great on-site restaurant (ask for David - he's our favorite manager), on-site bar with large TV's and great music for dancing! Great for family and adult only getaways! We always look forward to the annual Redfish Rodeo ladies only fishing tournament headquartered at the Isla Grand. I'm one that normally loves going "off-campus" however you really dont need to when you have everything right there!. Book your next stay in SPI at Isla Grand, and you wont regret it!

Room Tip: We prefer pool side rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to the Isla Grand as part of a convention, and then stayed for a few extra days just the two of us. For SPI, this is a really nice place to stay. Beautiful beach, beautiful pools with the bar right there, convenient central location, relaxing vibe, great dance band in the bar, reasonable drink prices . . . . for a Texas resort, this is my kind of place.

However, do not think of this as a Four Seasons type of resort. It was built in the 70s probably, and looks it. Nothing is in tip-top shape, but nothing's that bad either. And it's clean and well-kept.

There are two sections: motel-like rooms and condos. We stayed in one of the second story rooms with a balcony that faced the ocean (248). The view was absolutely gorgeous head on. However, laying in the bed, you couldn't see the ocean and were looking at other people's balconies. Why the bed isn't on the other wall is a mystery.

As one of the other reviewers noted, bed was a Sleep Number, but our controller didn't work, and we didn't worry about it too much. Also the sink stopper didn't close and the toilet is practically in the bathtub. And lots of people complained that there were no coffee pots in the rooms. Whatever. None of that seemed to impinge on just how nice it was to be there. And we did have a good size safe and an empty, working fridge - both of which I think are more important than the other things!

The pools (as you can see from the pics) are just lovely. Lots of room, lots of sun, plenty of chairs (a little run down, but fine), and some nice umbrellas for those of us who need some shade.

The beach is a vast stretch of white with bluer water and bigger waves than I've seen anywhere else in Texas. No water shoes necessary here! However, if you want a beach chair, that's $10, and I don't know how much they charge for umbrellas. But there were a couple of Enforcers there making sure you didn't just take advantage of using them free! I didn't find out whether the chairs and umbrellas were associated with the Isla Grand, or were just somebody's concession along the beach. Just factor in that if lounging on the beach is in your trip description, you've got to pay to play.

All in all, I really thought it was great. I like to tell people who read my reviews the bad along with the good because what's not a big deal to me might be very important to somebody else. The crowd was everybody from the DAs at the convention, to a wedding party for a couple of forty-somethings, to a few families with kids, to some very athletic-looking couples, to some seriously redneck folks, and middle-class Mexican nationals there on vacation.

Quiet, pleasant, friendly, clean, big pool . . . I was definitely very happy for a week.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have chairs out front and face the pool - so if you want privacy, don't be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMB_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently stayed in the condos. Rooms 501 and 504. Both have a good view of the pool and beach area, however 501 had ants all over the kitchen, and 504 is dated and the carpet looks like it should have been replaced 10 years ago. There was sand on the bed and on counter tops at check in (i understand its on the beach but come on). Master bedroom has sleep number beds, but secondary bedroom suitable for kids only (not very comfortable) Pool area and beach are nice (good location). Staff is friendly. If your biggest concern is location this would be a good fit, just don't expect a 4 or 5 star resort.....does have a pretty active night club "Quarter Deck" with a live band.....fun!

Room Tip: Skip 504 until there is some updating done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our first stay at Isla Grand. We stayed in a regular double bed room. The room was ok, but really disliked the beds. They have those sleep number beds, but they were so uncomfortable! I really liked the balcony of the room, though. The view to the pool is so relaxing. The pool area is surrounded by palm trees and so beautiful to see from the balcony. The pools are awesome and I really enjoyed relaxing in them after being in the beach all day. They also have a little hut next to the pool with the best burgers. The hotel is off the beach but they don't have a pathway to the beach. It's a long walk through the sand to get to the water. The pool and view are worth your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a FANTASTIC place to stay!!! Awesome and pet freindly as well... ***** Five Star *****

Had a great time. Great staff with great accommodations. Very pet friendly and perfect for a getaway. I recommend this resort to those of you who are unfamiliar with the Island and just looking for a great place to stay. The staff was unbelievably kind and courteous. The main restaurant was phenomenal with a great view. My comments don't do justice to the fantastic, fun, romantic time you will have here. Thanks to the managers Omar and Agustin for great personal service as well.
Looking forward to our next visit.
Jack Johnson

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach of course, the better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not bad. Has hammocks. A nice couple of pools. relaxing music poolside. The eds are tempurpedic mattresses which we nice. I have stayed at most the beach front hotels on SPI, and this is the oneI return to. Other hotels on the beach are a bit more run down than this one. All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loomannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing