We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl South Padre(South Padre Island)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$76
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$167
$76
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Inn Boutique Beach Motel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveler rating
477
218
133
88
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
477
218
133
88
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana roomcrab racestennis courtsquarter duckrecommend this resortlive bandpool bargreat resortpool sidehotel restaurantfull kitchenoff seasonfamily vacationocean viewquarterdeckwindjammerwhiskey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Amazing Family Vacation. The staff was wonderful, the facility was beautiful and we had the best time. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you Isla Grand for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Isla Grand Beach Resort. Our staff loves to hear their hard work pays off to make memorable vacations. We look forward on seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The property is pretty nice, but there are things around that make you realize that the hotel is in a Spring Break Party location.
We have stayed only in the tower condos, and the furnishings vary somewhat from room to room. On our last stay we initially were put in a 3d floor room, which provides a very nice view of the roof of the restaurant and the AC units, and a good feel for the bass and drums of the band playing below.
Then we were moved at our request to the top floor. Gorgeous view, nice room, king beds in both bedrooms, but we had the sound of what seemed to be the elevator mechanism on and off all the time.
The pool area, however, is very pleasant, and the furnishings were quite nice. We enjoy the full kitchen, and full sized refrigerator.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trialdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We are a Spring Break hotel just like every other property on South Padre Island, We cater to our hotel guests year round. Views of course vary by floor and yes the higher the condo the better the view. All of our condos have gone through renovations and we are glad you were able to experience that. We look forward on seeing you on your next vacation to South Padre Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for a spring vacation. After reviewing the hotel website, it appeared to be a nice hotel with pretty grounds. Be warned the website is very deceptive!
When we arrived around 5pm we were told that our room was not ready. The girl at the desk had NO customer service skills and didn't seem to know how to use the computer. She told us that she would ask her manager if she could "upgrade" us to a different room since out room was not ready. She came back and told us that she would "upgrade" our room AND that we would be charged the increased fee for this upgraded room...what?? After about thirty minutes of confusion and frustration the manager finally came out and said that our original room was ready?
Our hopes were dashed again when we were pointed in the direction to a run down building that was not connected to the main hotel. We opened the door and immediately smelled a musty dirty odor. Maybe it was the old outdated shag green carpet, or just the overall dirtiness of the room! I'm disgusted at what we were charged for this room!
The grounds looked nice until you took a closer look and the pool/whirlpool looked just as dirty as the room. It appeared that there were many people that were using the hotel grounds (pool etc) that were not hotel guests. Therefore, the paying customers were left with an overcrowded pool with no available seats.
Stepping on to the beach right off of the hotel grounds we were greeted by tons of garbage on the sand...soda bottles,used diapers, cigarettes, and on and on. I understand that the beach property is public, but take some pride in the beach area that your guests will be enjoying and clean it up!
Needless to say, we checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I want to thank you for informing us of your experience you had at our resort. I want to aplogize and let you know that your information you provided will be addressed. Customer Service is a top priority of ours and is part of our continuous training. We do have 24 hour security and we do our best to ensure only hotel guests use our pools. Our beach is a big part in our guests vacations and we are working hand in hand with the city and our staff to get the beach cleaned up. Thank you again and we hope to service you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The whole complex was dirty and trash everywhere. Beds were very old and extremely uncomfortable. Pool funiture was outdated. The beach access area was complete full of trash and glass! Beach umbrella and chairs were old rusty and in horrible condition.. The pool side bartender was extremely rude and some guest were visiting neighboring resort pools to get good service and good cocktails. Housekeeping was unavailable and did not clean room untill very late in the day. This place has seen better days.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

The Isla Grand Beach Resort has Sleep Number beds in about 90% of our rooms. When it comes to our Pool furniture, they were just purchased about a year ago and they are in great condition especially for the environment we live in. The Beach umbrella and chairs is a different service that is not affliated with our hotel and their business is located on the beach behind our property. Our pool side bar is a local favorite and we have had the same bartender there for over 25 years due to his customer service. Again, we apologize for your feelings on your stay and we hope to be able to service you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This older remodeled grand hotel has one of the best courtyard-pool areas I have been to.
Considering the harsh sea environment this place was clean. Excellent service coupled with cleanliness, beautiful scenery and good food provide a great stay. This is my fifth year to stay here and I have noticed the hotel never stops updating. The only downside on this property is the hotel store. It must be on a lease for it does not fit the owners vision. Other than the store one would never need to leave the hotel during a stay.

N. S. Downing

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us. We are also glad guests have noticed the constant updating we do to our property. We hope you make it back to South Padre Island and stay at the Isla Grand Beach Resort again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews