We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Relax And Enjoy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Relax And Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My family and I have vacationed here for eleven years. We stayed at this resort all but one year. The rooms are clean, the food is always good, service, security, and entertainment are great. My wife and I celebrated our 27th wedding annaversary in September 2011. Our first time here alone. We had a great time. A special thanks to Rick, Rafael, Victor, all the staff at the windjammer, and the Michael Stacey Band.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycoupletke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    196
    121
    80
    81
See reviews for
331
202
11
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Absolutely fantastic, as close to beach as you can get, gigantic pool, clean rooms, great food, and by far the best nightly entertainment

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnsboro, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at Isla Grand for a week during the off season. I had an excellent time. I made use of most of the amenities. The two pools were very well kept and clean. I loved the one with the water fall. I enjoyed the bar by the pool. The staff was very nice and friendly. You can order food from there as well. The room was one of the cabana rooms out by the pool. It was very clean. There is easy access to the beach. The beach area is well kept. I couldn't find a chair and umbrella to rent, but it was off season. The food in the restaurant was amazing. The buffet is unreal. It varied between Seafood, Italian, Mexican.. All was very good. I spent time at the lounge every night. There had a live music (Sweet Trouble Band) Great dance music. There is a shop in the hotel where you can buy anything you might need for the island. (swim wear, sandles, sunglasses, dresses, shorts, gifts, hats, etc) I would have to say my favorite was hanging out by the pool visiting with everyone at the bar. and what I liked least was the bar by the pool didn't stay open long enough. Overall the Isla Grand was exactly what I was looking for. I plan to go back in February.

Room Tip: I visited a friends corner room suite, and it was huge with lots of windows and an awesome view. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CjHead58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your review on our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward on seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My friend and I stayed here a couple weeks ago. The entrance of the hotel is beautiful and the birds add a nice touch. Check-in was a breeze, but when it came time to finding our room (which was facing the pool) it was very difficult. Our room was on the second floor so we took the elevator with our full cart. We walked down the hallways looking for our room (or any rooms) but couldn't find it. We took the elevator back down to the check-in desk to ask where our room was. Her directions were horrible! We had to walk around the whole hotel (with our cart) to get to our room. Once we found the room we had to make two trips each just to get all our stuff up and still weren't finished because we had to take the cart back around to the front of the hotel.

Even though the beginning was horrible the stay was wonderful. I would probably stay again but in a different part of the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joywheeler361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your great comments on our resort and I apologize for your confusing directions your received. We will be addressing easier directions for our guests to get to their room. Thank you again and we hope that when you return to South Padre you can join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe/Woodlands/Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Hotel is nice and coffee hut is great (Starbucks). Outside bar staff are very hospitable and restaurant breakfast staff are sweet and the food is good. Cabana rooms are just fine and love the front porch. Jacuzzis didn't have any pressure or heat and that's a downside because a little chill comes late in the afternoon and was looking for some warm water and muscle relaxation. Hope they will be fixed by the next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minibarlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for both the great comments about your stay with us, as well as the suggestions you made. We have already addressed the pressure and the heat in the jacuzzis. We look forward on servicing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Isla Grand Beach Resort during the start of the off-season (late Sept. 2011) for some quiet, low stress chill time pool-side and beach-side. Rooms were well kept, a little dated, but clean with good regular service. We like that this resort has a restaurant, pool-bar, and bar/night club with live entertainment ('till late night). The restaurant service and food were very good and the live music was top notch, oldies rock/soul/current pop, and then country another night; all good dancing music. The beach here was clean, water very nice, but beach umbrella/lounge service was costly, when they showed up (but independent of the resort); better to bring your own. Pools (2) were nice and clean, and had plenty of lounge chairs, though pool-bar could have longer hours. The very well kept grassy grounds facing the beach are good for a relaxing atmosphere (most other SPI hotels don't have much greenery if any at all). Also, nice tennis courts (4), but we didn't use them. We've stayed here before during the busy summer season, and it's been very nice then also, although check-in service and room servicing suffered a little. Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. Just don't expect the glitzy modern room decor of a new hotel. Just chill!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racer626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

great location with outstanding views, pool was nice but the poolside bar could be open longer, it was closed alot while we were there, the entertainment was very good in the lounge. Close to the beach but the beach was kinda dirty with trash. Friendly staff and good food, especially breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COZYMELMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing