We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good outdoor bar for off season.”

Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good outdoor bar for off season.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went when nothing special was happening on a Tuesday and probably got a better experience because of it. This is a bar, so stick with bar food. Nachos are good enough and the burgers are better than average. If you want seafood, go to Dirty Als. Bartender wasn't hurried so the drinks were good. No service though, order at the bar and then pick up at the window when your buzzer goes off. Even went back on Thursday when they were ramping up for sandcastle days and the additional croud made it a little less pleasant but still good for an outdoor lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RitchieMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    130
    85
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We heard this was great for an evening meal, drinks and live entertainment. I ordered the seafood combo and a drink called the TSUNAMI. My total cost was $25. My meal consisted of a thin filet the size of a deck of cars, a handful of fries and what looked like an oyster cut in half to make 2. My drink tasted like watered down pineapple juice sans any rum. We ended up leaving hungry and not ex;entertained. They're wasn't a band because there was a wedding reception. There wasn't any fireworks either. I can only guess that it was due to it being windy. We went to a gas station and had hotdogs, soda and a bag of chips for $5.80...smh

Helpful?
1 Thank chubsterSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hgn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“we have always liked the place, but there have been some expansion changes that sort of made it too big and loud”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

no, that's all.... we didn't have food to eat that time, too busy!
As I mentioned...it has expanded...always too many cars, tough on parking sometimes. It used to be a neat cozy place -- but it has grown, no what I like in a place, especially it is now to close and right up to the La Quinta we have stayed at. Just not what I would like anymore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marieva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Serves its Purpose...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited during the Sand Castle Days Festival so the bar & grill were flooded with people. Even still service was decent and the food was typical for a beach-side bar & grill. There are plenty of areas to sit including covered seating areas with lots of tables and chairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsPearl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good burgers, great location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Because of their location right on the beach, Clayton's could get away with food that's just ok. However, the burgers are really good and the fries are downright fantastic. Easy place to meet both locals and tourists and fet the lay of the land. And it's ground zero for the Sandcastle Days competition in October. One other thing: even though they stay busy, the help is very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bear7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing