We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What You Would Expect from a Beach Bar”

Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What You Would Expect from a Beach Bar”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We took our two kids, ages ten and thirteen, to Claytons for dinner one night during our week in South Padre Island. The boys had burgers, which were tasty. My ceviche was excellent -- I'd highly recommend it if you are a fan. All of the beer is sold by the can. Prices were pretty reasonable considering you are eating right on the sand on the ocean.

You can eat either outdoors under full sun (or stars) or under the canopy. During the day, you have beautiful ocean views. At night, it can be chilly, so bring a sweatshirt or jacket.

We were at Clayton's the week after Texas Week, so it was not too busy. There were a few spring break college-age kids from out-of-state, and several families with kids. During spring break, the place is a madhouse filled with inebriated 19-year-olds, so unless you're a college student, steer clear during that time in March!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    130
    85
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Vista, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you would like to relax and spend a day at the beach, this is the place to come. Food is okay, I would have the nacho's and beer, everything else is open for speculation but the view is worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard, Texas
Level Contributor
405 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bar”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is a little high but the quality is good. Drinks the same way. Its mostly outside so go on a nice day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Right on the beach so go on good weather day.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Better shrimp and fish dishes than I would have guessed (meaning choices other than battered and fried). Margaritas (smaller of 2 sizes) were fine. Grilled shrimp tacos esp good to savor as you watch a kiteboarder in the distance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's a Beach Bar”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location on the beach. Good drinks, good food, especially the blackened shrimp tacos. But, it's a beach bar, open to the environs. If the day is damp and windy, wear a good coat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing