We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach-”
Review of Claytons Resort

Claytons Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Claytons Resort
Reviewed September 27, 2012

closing in oct. 2012 for updating which it needs and reopens in march 2013 so I was told, beware of band noise on fri./sat. nights can get really loud. location is great and hotel is quiet during the day and nice beach bar and rest. part of the hotel but does block beach view

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L2819DPsteved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Claytons Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

If you like staying in places with a little character then this is a must stay. Lydia, the manager, is very friendly and helpful. We loved the place, but for us the noise level from the band next door was just too much (Fri til1pm, Sat til 2pm). But, Lydia was great and refunded us for our Saturday stay so we could find a quieter hotel. If your plans include partying with the band, then this place is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danispangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Clayton's Resort is a cool touch of a bygone era (1950's), an iconic-looking property on the beach on South Padre Island. It's a small property with 10 rooms, reasonably priced, in a good location on the beach. Rooms are nice, bathrooms a memory of the past. Ours included original blue toilet and sink.

Two things to be aware of: there is Clayton's bar and grill (which sits between the motel and the Gulf) which serves drinks and food and is very popular; the live band music on the deck on Friday and Saturday nights is extreme. However, if you know this in advance and you don't mind staying up late, then it's fine. The nice thing about the property for us was that its for folks 21 and older. Lydia in the front office was very accommodating and was a pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family recently rented the entire resort for a reunion and it was great! The rooms are cute, some with original bathrooms and fixtures. My only complaint is the amount of traffic that cuts through the resort to get to the restaurant and beach. They need to gate the front entrance and have better security at the boardwalk gate. We had to throw alot of people out.

The pool has a shelf-like shallow end and a nice deep area. But there is no shade around the pool.

The new deck area attached to the bar/restaurant blocks the view of the beach but is great people watching.

The beach vendors seem to occupy the entire area in front of the restaurant, so if you want a prime spot you have to beat them out. But they will still plop people down right on top of you anyway. Better to drive further down the beach to get to open space.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the large and very private with 2 queens beds and a sitting area. Room 1 is also very larg...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I really enjoyed this small no-frills hotel. It has a fifties feel to it, the rooms are large, the bed was comfortable and it was VERY clean. I was happy with the selection. They do not allow children, so it is good for adults but not good for families. There is a large restaurant/bar cabana and deck between the beach and the hotel which takes away views to the beach that were once there. On Friday and Saturday nights there were bands so it was loud into the late night, so if you are looking for a party beach experience with no kids, then this is the place for you. My only criticism is that they did not offer wifi. They are real laid back for check in/out and often there is no one in the office so you call them and they come. If you are impatient and like a lot of services, this is not your hotel. I enjoyed the Clayton's cabana beach bar too. They have plenty of parking and they protect one space for each registered guest.

Room Tip: I was in room #1 which is closest to the beach and has glass on two sides. It has a love seat and co...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradb1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Turning a 1950's retreat center into a small resort/hotel offers a good alternative to the large hotel and condominiums where one feels packed in with the hundreds of other vacationers. It has some of the best access to the beach, and definitely good access to Clayton's Beach Bar. Yet, with the Beach Bar standing squarely between you and the beach, it still has a pretty good private retreat feel to it.
The negatives are that the owner doesn't want to put mini refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms, nor is it really equipped for Wifi. If you are close enough to the office you can pick up a weak signal, and outside you can get a weak signal from a neighboring hotel. Still, it is not reliable.
Concerning the microwave and refrigerator, what hotel doesn't have them anymore? I suppose the owner wants us to purchase everything at his bar, but come on, no place to store a coke or pop some popcorn? Also, there is no coffe available until the office opens at 9:00AM, a little late if you need coffee to wake up.
So. With all that said, it is worth considering for the beach access, Beach Bar and the intimate feel. If you do, follow my suggestions: bring a cooler (you can get ice from the bar), bring your own coffee pot, and bring a good attitude about the music and fun at the bar on weekend evenings.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 11 have sitting areas and thus are larger. Room 1 has been updated and has a slightly bet...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cowboy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

the rooms were really nice and big we were in room 11 a King Suite... Clean. If I were to go back to South Padre I would try and stay again..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,547 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
#7 of 35 in South Padre Island
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Upper Deck Hotel
Upper Deck Hotel
#15 of 35 in South Padre Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claytons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claytons Resort

Address: 6900 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7741
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty Lodging in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Claytons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton's offers specialty lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Claytons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claytons Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing