We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”
Review of Cafe Kranzler - MOVED

Cafe Kranzler
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Kranzler is committed to providing our guests with a quality dining experience while serving up a delicious new American cuisine menu.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Went out for dinner with family which was 4 of us, food was good but service was terrible. We waited forever for a drink, when food was served she never come back to check on us at all I won't go back!

Thank gggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

This restaurant is a breath of fresh air for one's palate after the many, many eating establishments on South Padre that are dependent on fried foods. Once we discovered Kransler's we returned every week for one really good meal. The schnitzels are excellent and all of their sauces are flavourful but light and subtle. We found any of the desserts we ordered to be delicious. The waitstaff are professional and very friendly.
A lovely meal with wine is approximately $30 per person.

1  Thank Canadian-abroad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We pride ourselves on offering delicious European fare to tourists and locals alike. It's wonderful to know you join us for a weekly meal! I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the waitstaff as well. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Anneliese, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is not your usual friend seafood, as is so often the case for South Padre Island. It is quite, and and the chef takes care to make sure you are happy. The fancy Mac and Cheese is to die for. I like the variety. My friend and I had wiener schnitzel and it was very good. I want to try the Sunday Paella!

1  Thank firenicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your delightful review! We pride ourselves on offering our guests a different experience than one you would normally find at a South Padre restaurant. It's wonderful to know you were so impressed! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. We'd love to hear your thoughts on our Paella.

Cheers,

Anneliese, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were getting frustrated trying all of the highly rated SPI restaurants, most of which served a lot of fried foods and watered-down drinks. A woman at our hotel recommended Cafe Kranzler, and it was the best dinner on SPI, by far. They did have lots of seafood, but the dishes that really shone were fried green tomatoes with chipotle aioli, wiener schnitzel, and other classic European dishes. The creme brûlée with espresso was the perfect ending to a GREAT meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jrfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Knowing your dinner with us was the by far the best dinner you had during your stay in South Padre makes our day! I'm glad someone sent you our way upon hearing of your frustrations. It sounds as though nothing you ordered failed to impress. I hope you'll think of coming back to see us the next time you find yourself on the Island!

Cheers,

Anneliese, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Not exactly what you'd expect on South Padre Island - Kind of German, unique combinations, excellent flavors, very nice atmosphere - not designed for kids. Good for small groups (4 to 6).

1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your thoughts, David! It's wonderful to know you were so impressed with the unique flavors and combinations found in our dishes. I hope you'll think of joining us for another meal the next time you're craving something different.

Cheers,

Anneliese, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kranzler also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing