We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience!”
Review of Cafe Kranzler - MOVED

Cafe Kranzler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Kranzler is committed to providing our guests with a quality dining experience while serving up a delicious new American cuisine menu.
Harlingen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Cafe Kranzler, it was among one of the best dining experiences ever. The service was friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The wine recommendation was amazing, and even the kids raved about the food. We enjoyed great food, great atmosphere, and made great memories at Cafe Kranzler!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    9
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best quality food on padre island yet!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

You can tell they care about how their dishes are presented and the quality of taste. Will eat here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very rude, Don't know how to run a restaurant!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Called the evening before to ask for info about the restaurant. Not very helpful, with an attitude, they don't seem to care if you go or not.
Food was not good. Service was slow and didn't seem to be on top of things.
While having coffee I asked for more cream for coffee and answered they only give one per person.
I you are a masochist you shouldn't miss this restaurant. If you are looking for bad food, service with attitude, by no means GO!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chula1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isabel, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When it is good it is very good..........”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I love this restaurant, however it is very inconsistent. One visit may have fabulous food and poor service; the next may have mediocre food and okay service. I have had some of the best food ever here and also been embarrassed when I bought friends. It is pricy, and I still roll the dice and eat here, because "When is good it is very good, when it is bad it is horrid."

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“About the only "fine dining" experience one can find on SPI.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On our third trip to SPI we finally had a chance to try it, having been told it is pricey but unique. Both are true statements.

For those who are looking for something different, without a bar scene and all the chaotic noise places like to call music these days, this could be for you.

We had excellent service via Sergio, who was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There is nice decor and music, and a rather cozy atmosphere. We wished we had been in town to try Sunday night Paella night and Friday night Moroccan night, but we missed those. We also could not try breakfast and lunch because they were not open then during our stay.

We realized later that we over-ordered. Each of us chose an appetizer, and an entree, plus wine and dessert, which totalled nearly $100.00 for two. We think that's a bit much for SPI, even for a "fine dining" experience. The portions were large but we found them to be spicier than they needed to be. The chef obviously likes to add a kick to everything, which is fine, but perhaps in more moderation? He is definitely a creative and innovative force, and we enjoyed the options available.

You will not find the bar scene here, nor any fried food platters of any sort. Prepare to enjoy a relaxing atmosphere with lovely music, good service, unique menu choices and good food. Also prepare for a heftier price tag than usual on SPI.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaMaeSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kranzler also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing