We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super dissapointed!”
Review of PadreRitaGrill

PadreRitaGrill
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Seafood, Steaks and Burgers
Waupaca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super dissapointed!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ordered a Margarita with salt and came without. Ordered a second one later in the evening and it still had no salt. Our waiter said that he told the bartender to put salt on it, that she is new and in training. The shrimp scampi on "home-made" pasta was tasteless and not as described in the menu. Noodles were not home-made, got 5 small shrimp that were not seasoned, and the whole thing was swimming in a butter/oil bath. UGH!! Ordered another fish dish blackened. When it did not come that way, our waiter again said that he asked for it blackened. Needless to say we were anxious to get out of there. Had a better meal at Whataburger! Super pricey for the mediocre food. Drive on by this one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    108
    72
    44
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing margaritas”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enjoyed a visit to Padre Rita Ville now known as Padre Rita Grill in September 2012 I had the stuffed shrimp and garlic mashed potatoes and they were very good. However, the star of the show was definitely the margaritas. They have forty different kinds and thanks to a large group, I tasted several from the jalapeño margarita to the sangria. My favorite by far was the peach. It tasted like it was made with real peaches.

The owner entertained us with his singing and guitar. This is a place I will visit again the next time I am on the island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4texas_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Better Than Average Food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Padre Rita's is a fun, eclectic place with a "Margaritaville-type" atmosphere. Their band added to the fun, as did the random, unmatched strings of Christmas lights strung across the ceiling. Their chips, salsa, and guacamole were amazing, and the shrimp dinner was good as well. Their specialty garlic mashed potatoes were delicious. Our pina colada's came in whimsical polka dot glasses and were a good size and really tasty. Our waiter was on top of our order and checked back with us frequently. We had an enjoyable night and really enjoyed the food and fun atmosphere. We'll be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BevSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Halloween visit”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ate here on Halloween night when we found out the the restaurant next to our hotel was already closed at 9pm. They were having a halloween party here and all of the staff was dressed up. The food was good and the prices were decent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliusMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isabel, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Try their pork tenderloin sandwiches..they are huge! The 99 cent shrimp cocktail can't be beat. Well with a trip. It's Padre Rita Grill now.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PadreRitaGrill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to PadreRitaGrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing