We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must see if in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center

South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also on Facebook- South Padre Island Birding & Nature Center
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see if in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The tourist center has lots to look at and there are 2 great videos to watch on how they release the baby sea turtles. It's a 10 minute drive around the area, well worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    162
    44
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a highlight of SPI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this center and its vast boardwalk. Always watch the short film and birding and sealife on the island. Always listen to staff words of advice. Always walk the boardwalk, short or long version. This time we saw one of the elusive alligators, a snowy egret, and several roseate spoonbills.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bird Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There were so many different species of birds. Fun to watch in their own habitat. Actually saw a couple where one bird wanted to be alone and was so crabby with another bird, entertaining. Also saw a couple big alligators sunning themselves on the shoreline. Fun watching the crabs swimming around as well. Nicely done!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Starrs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moira NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birding on SPI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Extensive boardwalk enables easy viewing / sighting of birds and native wild life on SPI. Great oportunity for pix of birds and alligators if out. T shirts & souveneirs available in their gift shop. Admission is $5

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful birds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't miss the SPI Birding Center! We love walking the boardwalks in the morning, at noon and in the evening. This is a great place to view birds. This morning we saw Reddish Egrets, Snowy Egret, Great Egret, Little Blue Heron, Great Blue Heron, Tricolored Heron, a Clapper Rail, an American Bittern, Roseate Spoonbills, White Ibis, several redhead ducks and other ducks. We also saw a belted kingfisher and the Flammulated Owl that has been causing lots of interest here lately. This was our first day at SPI and we are looking forward to walking the boardwalks at the Birding Center again and again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing