We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pirate Cruise”
Review of Osprey Cruises

Osprey Cruises
Ranked #4 of 43 Tours in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Osprey Cruises offers a variety of water-related activities and attractions. Deep Sea fishing trips aboard Osprey 1 and Osprey 2. Bay fishing trips aboard Bay King and Buccaneer. Bird watching cruises. Sightseeing cruises. Boat rides. Dolphin watching cruises. Nature and eco trips. Sunset cruises. Fireworks cruises. Osprey Cruises and Black Dragon are the top ranked boating attractions by visitors to South Padre Island area.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Pirate Cruise”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Black Dragon Cruise by Osprey Cruises was a fabulous afternoon for children. We took our two grandchildren, aged 2 and 5, and both boys loved the show and interactive fun. From the magic show as we waited for the cruise to begin to the sword dueling and treasure hunting there was something for everyone. Highly recommend this cruise for children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    118
    55
    32
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bay King fishing”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time fishing on the Bay King! There were 7 in our group and we did the 7-11 pm trip. Captain was very honest about the possibility (or lack) of catching fish. He explained how the currents play a major role in fishing but promised to try to get us to a good fishing hole. We fished two different holes and everyone seemed to catch something-even if it was smaller fish. We did get to see some interesting fish- 2 people caught guitar fish (which I had never seen), someone caught a shark, and our group caught 8-10 keepers. We also got to see a couple of baby hammerhead shark swimming around the boat. So even if we weren't catching a ton we had a great time. Caption was very good with the smaller kids-helping them catch their first fish, walking the different types of fish around the boat so everyone could look/feel, and was just a nice guy to visit with throughout the trip. Only one thing I would recommend - not quite as many people on the boat at a time. Would have been nice to have about 15-20 at the most to spread out and have a little breathing room.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been on lots of fishing trips and this one was good. The boat was clean and the captain and crew were attentive. We caught fish and then had them cooked at the restaurant there. It was a good day. No complaints.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Fishing Trip Ever!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Let me start off by saying the Captain was very loud and very disrespectful. First, we headed out to the end of the jetties and we were there for 2 hours and all that was caught were 2 king fish. We finally moved a few miles from the jetties, and about 30 minutes of catching nothing (10:30), the caption hooked two sharks. As soon as the sharks were on the lines, our fishing trip was over. It was all about the caption catching the sharks from that point on. The first shark was lost within a minute, and that is when the caption started getting angry. When the second shark was hooked, very shortly after the first one was lost, the caption started to freak out. Sorta seemed like it was his first time ever encountering a shark. At that point, he started yelling at everyone to reel their lines up and had us move all our poles to the middle of the boat. The caption started chasing the shark with the boat so he wouldn't lose the shark again. After about 45 minutes of running around the boat like a chicken with his head cut off, we could finally see the shark from the boat. During the time he was reeling in the shark, the caption was yelling at his deck crew, trying to teach them how to get the shark into the boat (very young guys, getting paid off tips). The first attempt went very badly so he started to yell a little louder and got even more mad then he already was. By the 4th attempt, the shark was free and that's when the captions anger really kicked in. As he was yelling about how pissed he was, he threw the pole as well as his cowboy hat on the ground and drove the boat as fast as it possibly could go back to where we caught the sharks. When we got back to the spot, we finally started to catch some fish (11:20). The first fish I caught (white fish), the caption took it without even asking and used it as bait to hopefully catch another shark. After about 20 minutes, it was time to head back. Good thing we didn't catch another shark or we probably would have been out there all day, and my fish would've not been mine anymore. I never recommend going on this boat 'bay king', go to Danny B's instead, very friendly caption and actually cares about your experience instead of catching sharks in the bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

These cruises are amazing. I brought my kids to SPI for a weeks vacation and we have spent one night/day every day taking one of their cruises. I love how affordable everything is, and if you take more than one you get a discount on each cruise after the first. All the employees are THE BEST!! I did not fish before I came to SPI, but yesterday my kids and I caught over 10 red snapper and king fish and loved every minute of it. We will definitely return and do it all again!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mistyb1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Cruises also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Osprey Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing