We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room/Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staff made all the difference in the hotel, felt like we were staying with Family. Jessica the waitress that serves the pool/deck area treated us like royalty! The manager for the pool/deck was outstanding as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2014

Hi Jose,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.It is lovely to read that our staff were able to make your short getaway so memorable. On behalf of all the staff, it was a pleasure having you staying with us and we all hope that you will take more getaways to visit us and South Padre Island again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and i stayed here during our vacation. We had a wonderful time, the room was cool, clean and comfortable. The only problem i had was that adjustable bed comfort setting was broken so to me the bed was really hard. we loved the hotel restraunt and bar. We Both tried pina coladas for the first time, which were delcious. we loved the hotel beach access and our view was great and we tried room service for the first time. I loved that! Breakfast was great; it was hot and delicous every morning. the omlett bar was my favorite. Anytime we had questions, the staff were very helpful and happy to answer them. i wish we never had to leave south padre. I hope we get to come back again and stay there again :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Emilee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Emilee,

The many accolades you have given to our staff just blew us away, and knowing that you had "wonderful time" and "loved the hotel and restaurant" made our day! Thank you again for choosing us on this visit to South Padre Island, and our team promises to impress you with another memorable stay anytime you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family had a wonderful stay at this hotel just over a year ago. Good enough that we couldn't wait to come back. Unfortunately our experience this time was much different than our last. For starters there's certain things that we expect in a hotel room, one of those things is a functional bath tub. The initial room we given had a shower and lacked a tub. After speaking with the front desk we were given another room, this one didn't have a functional tub either. Finally on the third try we were given a room with a tub. Later on in the evening we found out the drain stop wasn't working so it wouldn't hold water for my wife to take a bath. At that point we gave up. The women who helped us at check-in was nice and explained that we were lucky we weren't a late check-in otherwise they wouldn't have been able to help us out. My answer to that is we would have stayed elsewhere if this was the case. We feel a bathtub is an expectation rather than something that requires a special request. Even after letting the staff know that the tub in the 3rd room wasn't functional nothing was done to fix it.

Beyond that the room was nothing special. The carpet was frayed at the entrance to the room and looked to be quite old. The bed was comfortable which was nice. Other members of the staff were nice, especially Rudy at the bar. The food was as good as almost anything on the island and the drinks were consistently excellent.

Overall, our experience wasn't horrible, but rather just average. As this hotel gets older I would expect it to get worse. The nice people working there are the only reason I gave it an average rating versus a poor rating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2014

Dear Jason,

Thank you for your feedback. It is with deep regret to read of your frustrating experience of your overall stay with us. Without going into details of all points mentioned you may rest assured that I have well taken note and that corrective measures are taken wherever possible in order to better our service and to avoid any re-occurrence in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great, clean hotel. Family of 6 - we had a ton of fun. The beach was clean and nice. The hotel is semi-secluded and the pool was very large and warm at night. I don't know if fireworks are a regular thing - but they had a great display on Friday and Saturday nights. (We stayed in early Aug. - so it was not a forth of July thing.)

I would definitely stay again. We had a ton of fun.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor in a suite - which was directly in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for the compliments. It is great to hear feedback from our guests and to feel rewarded when we read we are doing a good job. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went to Hilton Garden Inn to enjoy 4th of July in South Padre Island. The first morning there, the power went out for almost an hour.My husband and sons were almost late for their fishing trip, and only got a cold breakfast even though we'd paid for the full breakfast package. My daughter and I were going to spend the day shopping, but couldn't shower or blow dry our hair. The bathroom was completely dark for over an hour. I decided not to complain. That evening when we got in, our room was 82 degrees. It was very late, and we were too tired to move, so we decided to wait until morning to call. I sweated all night, and by morning, it was 84 in the room. We all woke up sweaty and cranky. At breakfast, we were met with incredibly long lines and uncomfortable crowds. We reported our A/C problem, and they sent a crew up to the room. They replaced the entire A/C unit. That afternoon, we had planned to enjoy the pool all afternoon. We were sitting under umbrellas, enjoying the day, when a maintenance man came and took our umbrella, at about 3 pm. We asked him what he was doing. He apologized in broken English, and took all the umbrellas down. We could no longer enjoy the pool because it was just too hot to sit out with no shade. We went in and asked the manager why they had taken the umbrellas. He apologized, and that was it. No explanation. So we went back to our room and watched TV. I can do that at home. Our A/C seemed to be working okay, but that night, it went out again. I got up around 2 am, and the thermostat said 82 degrees again. We gave up. Even though we'd planned to stay to celebrate Independence Day and watch the fireworks, we were all so fed up, we packed up and went home a day early. I went to the website and found Hilton's Satisfaction Promise: http://hiltongardeninn3.hilton.com/en/about/promise.html. I wrote the reservation and customer care office in Carrolton, Texas twice and the manager of the Hilton Garden Inn in South Padre Island once. It's been well over a month, and I haven't gotten a single response from any of them. I would never stay at Hilton again, and would never recommend it to anyone. If they're going to promise satisfaction on their website, they should deliver.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank VBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you liked our hotel but we’re disappointed you didn’t completely enjoy your stay. We are sorry you didn’t have an enjoyable and peaceful stay. We sincerely apologize we didn’t live up to your expectations. This is unacceptable to our standard and we hope this experience doesn’t damper your perception of our hotel. We promise to make it right the next time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Our 5 families loved our stay. Room was excellent. We loved the pool because it was perfect for our children ages 3-17. The Hotel staff was kind and they were friendly. We are planning togo again next year and have fun. We can't wait for next summer

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2014

Dear Julian,

At the Hilton Garden Inn, we aim for excellence and it is a pleasure knowing we exceeded your expectations with our spacious suites and resort amenities. We hope these elements contributed to an everlasting impression, and we would be elated to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to make lasting memories with our son and we did! This is a clean, friendly, comfortable place. Air conditioning was excellent and beds were fine. The extra space in the Jr. Suite made changing into swimsuits easy. Close to the beach for convenient access back and forth all day. I would recommend renting a car for the week though for easy access to the family activities at the other end of the island without having to pay a taxi.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Dear Gigi,

It’s been a pleasure reading your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We glad you had a great stay during your family vacation. Thank you for all of your gracious comments and we hope to have you back the next time you visit South Padre Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,340 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,619 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
341 reviews
4 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
527 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $102 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing