We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We did a quick family getaway for a weekend and shopped around for a few days. I must admit, I was a bit disappointed with the limited options there are for a decent hotel, but I was very happy with the Hilton. It was very spacious, nice, and in a great location!! They have balconies that are perfect for enjoying the view of the beach. It's great for families because it's not surrounded by too much traffic, noise, or businesses, but everything is less than a 5 minute drive away so it's perfect. The pool is gorgeous and very big! And in the evenings, it's all in the shade so it's perfect if you've had enough sun for the day. The beach access is really nice too! There's a nice little deck to get out to it and makes for some really great morning scenery with the sun rising over the water. And if you don't feel like driving out for a meal, Clayton's is just 2 buildings over and accessible through the shared deck with La Quinta. All in all, we had a wonderful experience, the staff was all really friendly as well.

Only had 1 complaint-the carpet in the room. I'd read several other complaints about dirty carpeting in some of the rooms, but didn't realize the extent of it. While I realize that keeping hotel carpets spotless is an impossible task, there were quite a few stains all over and in multiple colors. While it wasn't an inconvenience (I just made sure to never walk around barefoot, though I never do in hotels anyway), it was definitely an eye sore.

Also, note that there will be an added $4 resort fee I don't think you will know about in advance. It's not a big deal but I wasn't expecting it. But to be fair, I may have just read over that minor detail when booking.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel and would love to stay there again on another trip.

Room Tip: As always, the higher up the better. (I believe 4th floor is the highest). Pool/Ocean side views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Liz,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your family’s getaway experience staying at the Hilton. We apologize about the stained carpet in your room and the inconvenience it made for you. We do clean our carpets regularly but we’re going to take a further look into this to guarantee top quality. On the other hand, we are thrilled you enjoyed our location, pool, and our friendly staff which made a great family vacation. Thank you for choosing us and hope you will once again the next time your in South Padre Island for another amazing getaway experience.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    405
    185
    79
    54
See reviews for
576
522
43
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is by far the nicest HGI I've stayed in. Our room was really a mini suite, with a large screen TV in both the anteroom and the bedroom. The anteroom had a nice desk and chair, and wireless internet was fast (good enough to watch netflix for sure) and also had frig and microwave. Bedroom faced east towards the ocean, and as it was on the 2nd floor the view over the pool to the water was gorgeous. Room was very clean and neat, the only complaints were (a) the coffee machine didn't work, but we didn't even try to make coffee until the last morning and (b) the water pressure was a bit weak. While we didn't eat the breakfast, it looked pretty good. We did have room service one night and it was super fast (15 minutes), quite good, and not overpriced at all. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Amenities such as ice machines and washer/dryers were abundant and isolated so you didn't have to hear them operating.

Staff were courteous and we were able to get a noon checkout w/o any problems.

I would most definitely return and congratulate hilton for a very nice property!!

Room Tip: Get a room on 2nd floor facing the ocean. That way you aren't totally dependent on the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding your experience staying at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are very pleased to read you loved and enjoyed staying at our hotel. We’re also happy our amenities and staff members complemented your stay and left you feeling very satisfied. We appreciate you choosing us to stay with and glad to know you will return the next time you’re on the SPI.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent room, spacious and clean. Staff is very attentive and go the extra mile for customer service. The desk clerk allowed us to view the room prior to finalizing the booking. Great pool with easy access to beach and excellent rinse off stations. Great fireworks on Friday and Saturday night while we stayed. Bottom line is that if we visit South Padre Island again this is where we will stay and will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We really enjoyed having you and reading your review. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to share a great review. We are overjoyed you loved the firework show, our customer service, and pool area. We hope to accommodate you once again the next time you’re in South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A wonderful, relaxing few days at this lovely hotel! It's relatively new, so that helps. Attentive, quite nice staff. Nicely appointed lobby and dining area. Spacious, clean and inviting room with balcony overlooking pool and ocean. A short walk to the beach. Would definitely stay there again. Wish I were there now.........sigh..............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jenn,

It was truly a pleasure reading your awesome review of your experience at the Hilton on South Padre Island. We are ecstatic you found our hotel very relaxing, spacious, clean, and overall amazing. Thank you for choosing us to stay with and for sharing your experience. We would love to see you back the next time you’re on the Island.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in an ocean view suite. The suites are very spacious with plenty of room for a family of four. The balconies are also a nice size and have a great view. The hotel has a large pool that is mostly shaded in the afternoons making it a nice place to hangout after spending the day on the beach. The biggest drawback is the uncomfortable beds. Even my daughters commented that the beds felt like sleeping on a mat. The only other negative was housekeeping. They consistently came between 5-5:30 which is when we were showering to go out to dinner. So each day I would trade the towels out for clean ones because they told me they couldn't come back because they were leaving for the day. On the last day I requested that housekeeping come earlier. They did come earlier while we were out but didn't replace the dirty mugs, glasses, coffee fixings, or leave additional toilet paper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ststexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are flattered you chose us to stay with during your 5 night visit to South Padre Island. We are glad you generally enjoyed our hotel and its amenities such as our large pool, scenic views, and spacious rooms. However, we are saddened to read our beds and housekeeping created an inconvenience for you and your daughters. We apologize and will take action to correct these oversights by analyzing our beds and improving our housekeeping schedule. With that said, we’re delighted you still had a great time at the Hilton Garden Inn. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope to greet you once again during your next visit to South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great place to stay!! Had fun at the pool, it was clean, the beach had easy access. I felt safe w my wife and 3 young sons. I highly recommend families to stay here. The breakfast was a delight, and its a very short drive to all of the main action closer to the bridge. Also, the hotel was reportedly booked when we got there(that usually happens) and the manager was very helpful in accommodating us and our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear David,

We appreciate your kind-hearted words towards our hotel. We’re thrilled to read you had an awesome experience enjoying our pool area, easy beach access, and our fulfilling breakfast. Also, glad to hear our staff assisted your every need. Thank you for choosing the Hilton and we would love to have you back the next time you are staying in South Padre.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family has been traveling to South Padre Island for the last 10 years and I have to say that we've stayed at almost all of the properties there. However, this was our first stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Upon arrival, they apparently told us that they have overbooked all the rooms and so we ended up in a regular two queen room facing the entrance even though my reservation was for two queens ocean view suite. Considering how tired we were from our 6 hours drive down, we had no choice. Of course this dampens our family vacation because the kids were looking forward to the ocean view. However, Lionel told us that they'll make it up to us and indeed between him and Fabian, we ended up having a great time. They unlocked the movies for us so the kids could enjoy a variety of movies at night and in the end was able to switch us over to the ocean view suite for our last two nights. My kids enjoyed the pool and the beach, but there's no words to describe the Friday night fireworks. It felt as though we were right under it. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton on South Padre! We’re really excited you got witness the fireworks and had a memorable time with your family. Although there was some complications in the beginning, I’m glad everything was eventually worked out and your kids got to enjoy the ocean view for the remaining 2 nights. Fabian and Lionel are very diligent staff members who will be delighted to hear they contributed to your great time. Thank you for sharing your feedback and please visit us again the next time you’re in town.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
334 reviews
4.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing