We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location & Huge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hilton Garden is located towards the end of the busy street that traverses South Padre making it a little less congested. The rooms are huge and all overlook the pool and the beach in the distance. The restaurant was willing to bring me my lunch poolside instead of having to eat inside. Located right across the street from the Birding Center and Turtle hospital, it is easy to spend the day without a car seeing the sights and enjoying the beach. A shuttle bus does take guests down the main street for shopping or restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second to 4th floor have a view of the beach but first floor rooms are poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

It has been a pleasure reading your kind review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are very pleased you had enjoyed our huge room and our superb waiters which contributed to your great stay. Thank you for choosing us and leaving this wonderful review. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Bests,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,281 - 1,287 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very satisfied with hotel, service and location. I did not know what to expect but a very nice hotel in a very nice location. A short walk out back to the beautiful beach. I would recommend the South Padre Hilton Garden Inn to everyone; I will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We are thankful you took the time to submit a kind review for us and fellow Trip Advisors users. It was an honor to accommodate you as you enjoyed yourself with our amenities. We are thrilled to read you were very satisfied with our beautiful location, boardwalk to the beach, and overall our hotel. Thank you choosing us and we are looking forward to seeing you for another wonderful vacation.

Bests,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked two nights on Expedia and paid for "Room charge, taxes, and fees" up front. Upon checking out, a Resort Fee Tax was added to my bill for each night. Complaints to the front desk and Expedia did nothing. This was a nice property and it was really a shame that they had this back door fee.

Room Tip: OceanView and PoolView rooms are both on the same side of the hotel with the same view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and addressing your concern. We are very sorry you were unaware of our resort fee; customer satisfaction is always our main priority. It’s never our intention to surprise guest with fees. However, we do charge a resort fee, which is not a tax, but a service charge that goes directly toward offsetting the costs of such guest services as pool towels, the fastest guest internet service on South Padre Island, and several of our in-room amenities. We do not wish to nickel-and-dime guests with many small charges for small amenities, and instead charge a low amount per night to offset our costs, and continue to deliver these services to all guests. I hope the confusion regarding our resort fee will not alter your decision to return the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First the Pros... This hotel is in a great location. It is right on the beach and at the end of the main hotel strip, so the beach is not super crowded, especially if you walk down the beach a little bit. It is right across the street from the Birding Center, which we enjoyed. The hotel itself is nice and serves a delicious breakfast for about $10 with omelet station and pretty much anything else you would want. One of our favorite things about this hotel was the free Saturday night luau and fireworks. We didn't know about this until we got there, but we were so glad we went. The luau started at 8:30 and then the fireworks were immediately afterward at 9:15, right behind the hotel. You could not have a better viewing area for fireworks! It was great. We also appreciated that management was walking around the pool area checking for wristbands and making sure everyone in the pool was staying at the hotel.

Now for the cons... The hotel seemed to have very thin walls and floors. It was NOISY! The people above us woke us up at 2:50 the first night and 4:30 the second night. Both times we had trouble going back to sleep. I don't know what they were doing, but it sounded like they were stomping and constantly dropping things. The noise in the hallway was also very loud. As others have reported, the beds are very uncomfortable. They advertise the beds as having "adjustable" firmness, but the knob doesn't seem to do anything, and the mattress felt like sleeping on the floor, no matter the setting. The combination of the noise and uncomfortable bed led to two practically sleepless nights. One other minor complaint was our view. We booked our room using Hilton points, so we did not expect to have a fabulous view. However, our "view" was of the roof, and the pyramid-shaped entrance area of the hotel was directly in front of our room. Meaning, pretty much all we saw from our balcony was roof and this pyramid. We asked to be moved to a higher floor and were told no rooms were available. We then asked if we could pay to upgrade to a better view, and were again told no rooms were available. This was a minor inconvenience since we weren't in our room that much anyway, but we would have enjoyed actually being able to use the balcony.

All in all, I would stay here again but ask for a room on the top floor to hopefully have less noise. I probably would have given the hotel 3 stars if not for the free luau and fireworks, which were unexpected and great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so you don't have people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlsp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are very happy you enjoyed the luau girls and the fireworks on the beach happening every Saturday. On the other hand, we are very sorry you had restless nights due to the noise from other guests and your uncomfortable bed. We are currently creating a system to reduce the noise made by other guests by placing them next to others with the same or similar party size. We also want to apologize for our beds being an inconvenience for you. You should have experienced nothing less than a great night sleep. We are taking action by checking all beds to ensure one’s sleep quality. Thank you for choosing us and for delighting us with your presence. We will look forward to seeing you once again.

Bests,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved staying at the Hilton Garden Inn. It is right on the beach and we loved the big pool.
What an awesome breakfast buffet! The convenience of the pantry for snacks and other items was great. All the employees went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. We will definitely be returning here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We are more than happy you will be returning soon. We take great pleasure reading great reviews like yours. We are thrilled you like our breakfast buffet, big pool, and the excellent staff that made our stay very comfortable. Thank you for choosing us and we will be looking forward to your arrival the next time you visit SPI for another island getaway.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Overall, this is a nice hotel. However, our TV did not work properly during the duration of our stay. It was reported, but all they would tell us is that they were working on it. The walls and floors are a bit thin and the noises from the floor above was annoying. Other than that, it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for write a review regarding your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are excited you liked our hotel and had an enjoyable stay. Although, we are saddened to read your T.V. was not working during your entire stay. We understand this can be frustrating and irritating especially when you are missing the game because of it. We are truly sorry and only hope this didn’t define your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you back. This time we will make sure your T.V. fully works and you receive all of our amenities you deserve.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time staying here, and needless to say...we won't be back. Overpriced and over-rated! When we first arrived at our room (462) it smelled horrible! It was mildewy and had a nasty stench. We tried airing it out by opening up the balcony door, but it didn't help. We asked the front desk to switch us to a new room (which they said they were booked, but they'd try to figure something out) and finally got switched over to 426. It was a handicap room. It didn't smell (thank goodness) and had plenty of room. But as I pulled down the covers to get into bed, I noticed this dried up blood stain. I then saw another "red" stain on the carpet. We went down to the lobby to get a new blanket and stayed away from the stain on the carpet. Fridge stayed slightly cool, but didn't keep food or drinks cold. I was tired of moving around, so we stayed.
On our last night, the fire alarms went off. I asked the front desk if this was common, and she said no. Which I think was a lie, because previous reviewers have posted about the alarms going off at night.
Breakfast selection was good, but service was horrible! You pretty much have to try to find a seat and the waiters come to you. We had to flag down a waiter to get silverware and coffee. We were never asked if we needed refills or anything else. I would recommend going to Denny's or finding somewhere else to eat. At least somewhere where you'd get service.
Bottom line....save your money and rent a condo or stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vdtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry of the experiences you endured during your stay with us. These circumstances are very uncommon for our hotel. We apologize about the odor in your room upon check-in and have taken care of this problem. We are glad you were able to change rooms but we’re ashamed by the stains you found in that room. Fortunately, we have removed the stains and like the previous room we have conducted an extensive diagnosis of the room and corrected any oversights. Also, we are sorry about the fire alarms going off and causing a disturbance during your stay. We understand how frustrating this can be late at night. However, due to our no smoking policy there are smoke alarms in each room and when a guest smokes in the room the fire alarm will sound for everyone’s safety.
We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast selection but we’re unhappy our service we didn’t meet your expectations. We have addressed these concerns with our waiters and staff to ensure every guest is not forgotten or unnoticed. We would feel honored to have another opportunity to prove we are nothing less than the best hotel on South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,350 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,633 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $112 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing