We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am completely satisfied with everything about this hotel--great staff, great rooms, pool, close to the beach, etc., BUT, if you are on a business trip and concerned about having a good night's sleep, then you might reconsider. I have stayed here several times over the last 2 years and I have never been able to get a good night's sleep due to stomping and yelling guests in adjacent rooms and hallways from late night to early morning hours (and my stay was not during spring break :). I also couldn't leave the balcony door open to enjoy the sounds of the surf and birds because guests in adjacent rooms were smoking on their balconies and the cigarette smoke was wafting into my room. I'll stay here again, but not for business trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for once again choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and sharing your experience of your stay. We appreciate you highlighting our great staff and hotel amenities. We are sorry about the sleep quality you experienced and sad it didn’t meet your satisfaction. Thank you for repeatedly choosing us and we hope to see you back soon.

Bests,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our hotel stay was average. We were pleased with the bed comfort and the beach access was wonderful. However we found hair in the bathtub and the room smelt musty. The noise level was also pretty loud at night. The pool would have been very nice had there not been construction going on at the time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking time to share your experience regarding your stay. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered in your room. This I unacceptable to our standards and will be fixed immediately. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I currently had a medical procedure done and was staying in south padre island to recooperate. Sadly I left my belongings outside of my vehicle because I was not feeling well. I left a purse which had my company name on the purse... By the next morning when I realized it was missing I went to the front office to see if for some reason I did leave it somewhere and the manager pointed to it on the back of counter saying the maintance employee found it. Come to find my iPad, cash and charger was missing! Sad to say and I'm not ONE to accuse but had it been a guest or a stranger they would've taken the entire bag NOT dig around, take what he/she wanted and left the bag there! It's hard to believe they don't have cameras in the parking and disgusting to know the employees are thieves! When I spoke to the 2 managers they seemed to care less MUCH less offer to let me view the camera footage!! The only upside of the issue is the idiot didn't take my $500.00 sunglasses maybe because he / she was too busy looking for more cash or electronics!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was extremely satisfied with the Hilton Garden Inn and will definitely stay there again if I travel to SPI. Although the hotel was at the very end of the strip that was not a totally bad thing as that added to the peace and quiet. Onsite store, restuarant,bar, private balcony and the fact that this was a very clean hotel made my trip a worth while one. Staff seemed to be very attentive and everyone said hello. I stayed on a Monday and it was very quiet which I really enjoyed. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garyl176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

We are overjoyed to read you are extremely satisfied with your stay. We are glad you took a liking to our on-site restaurant/bar, friendly staff, and your private balcony. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and for taking the time to share your nice comments. We hope to see your back once again for another enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Bests,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room looked really nice except for the carpet. There were multiple stains. The bathroom had issues----the shower did not fully function, the toilet seat seemed loose at first but upon further examination it was broken and the drain was in early stages of clogging.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms and location. However, we are very sorry about the carpet stains and bathroom issues. We are currently taking action on both issues and can assure this will no longer be a problem. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back once again.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were getting away from Houston for a couple days in So Padre after 40 year absence and wished to see So Padre Is. This hotel perfectly located to north and offers the undeveloped (or lesser developed) part of the island and yet easy access to stores & restaurants. Nice room, friendly staff very helpful and we found the restaurant to be very good for breakfast and one dinner. Offers choice of nice big pool/hot tub and/or enjoy the sand and surf a short walk away. Inside hotel is of course smoke free but there is no enforcement of smoking around the pool. A sign under a canopy roof area near the pool says "Smoking Area" which suggests they intend to enforce no smoking around the pool but clearly guests thought it was okay to smoke in pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Gulf & beach and those facing North are great views. Avoid those facing south w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poohpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to note you enjoyed your room, our staff, pool area, and restaurant. We apologize about the smoking situation you experienced. We are indeed smoke-free inside the hotel but outside near the pool are there are locations where smoking is allowed. We are glad you had a great “get away trip” and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff is very friendly, the rooms were really nice, the restaurant food was excellent. The pool and hot tub area are really nice and it is so close to the beach that if all you are going there for is to relax and get away you could stay right there and have everything you need right there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Carolyn Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Hilton Garden Inn regarding your stay. We are always thrilled to read a review of a satisfied guest. We are delighted you enjoyed our on-site restaurant, pool area, and beach front that made a relaxing vacation to remember. Thank you for choosing us and come visit us again to another memorable island experience.

Bests,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,602 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $104 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing