We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room at the Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Bluff, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Room at the Hilton Garden Inn”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were more than pleased with our accomodations at the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, Texas. Our room was huge with a view of the ocean (we were on the North side of the building). The bathroom was also big and had a great exhaust fan - thus no foggy mirror!

The pool area was on the ocean side of the building, which is kid friendly, and it also has a hot tub area. There were plenty of lounge chairs and a covered lanai area for those wanting a shady spot. Also, it is just a short walk to the beach. There was also a wedding near the beach one night with a deck for the ceremony. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make your reservations early with the HGI - they get busy on the weekends and holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of the Hilton Garden Inn. Our staff is thrilled that you were more than pleased with our service. We are glad you have relished your time staying with us during your visit to South Padre Island. Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    406
    185
    79
    54
See reviews for
577
522
43
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I also stayed on February 14 and 15. The water problems caused the fire alarms to go off during the night and again the next morning. Did not get much sleep that night. No water the next morning and I was not able to take a shower. Rooms need work. Old and tired. Resturant was full and had to go elseware for dinner. I am not sure if I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtd107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and concerns but disappointed we failed to exceed your expectations. We sincerely apologize about the water and alarms issues. We understand this can be very frustrating on a business trip. We plan to install an additional water pump soon to keep water pressure at a more favorable level throughout our hotel, especially during times of city-wide water pressure problems. Thank you for selecting us and we hope you will give us another shot the next time you’re visiting the island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden at South Padre for a couple of nights (Feb 14-15), and loved it! There was a water problem on the island (not Hilton's fault), but the management were Great-especially Bruno, the General Manager! He went to everyone's table at mornings breakfast, and was everywhere-assuring customers that things were alright and would be taken care of. He discounted our rate for our stay because of the Water (sometimes we had low pressure, sometimes we had no water, but we always had a chance to take a shower or bath, and had plenty of water to drink) Main problem in the street in front of the Hotel. The food was great, the bartenders, waitresses, and room personell were good too. There was a beautiful parking area outside and plenty of room for our large truck! We loved it even though the weather was quite windy one of our days there, but we made the best of it and took long walks on the beach. The turtle reserve across the street was very interesting too! I would stay there again-especially because of the People who work there!

Room Tip: We had the ground floor and very near the pool. Even though there is no access through the private f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schmalzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalP, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear schmalzie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at and for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island. We take great pride in providing a high level of service to all of our guests. This is why it pains us greatly to know that your stay was complicated by factor outside of our control, but we are certainly glad that our staff nonetheless made your stay as comfortable as possible.

We plan to install an additional water pump soon to keep water pressure at a more favorable level throughout our hotel, especially during times of city-wide water pressure problems.

Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

First, I would have rated my exact experience POOR, but decided AVERAGE is fairer for a review.

On paper, this seems a great place to stay on SPI because it is at the north end of the strip and adjacent to a beach park. It is across the street from the birding center, near the turtle rescue, and the convention facility. Most every room has some beach view except the west facing rooms that see the sunset over Laguna Madre.

Our room rate was very good, with free breakfast kicked in for HHONORS members. I suppose I assumed that the rate was low because occupancy was down as Winter Texans started homeward and before Spring Break. I guess I booked early and many others booked late.

For everything I wanted to like...there was a reason to dislike.
- The beds have adjustable firmness settings...but it's like you're sleeping on a pile of blankets.
- There are poolside rooms...with NO direct pool access.
- The rooms have a beach view...but the room furniture is not arranged to see it.
- There are nice sitting areas around the pool and beach...with limited/no close bar service.
- The two hot-tubs are very nice...but occupied by screaming drunken high-schoolers.
- The rooms seem quiet...unless Metallica is performing in the convention hall until 11 pm.
- Breakfast was very good...if you could get through the line and find a seat.
- Parking is beautiful paving stones...there just aren't enough spaces.
- The baths are large...but there isn't any water pressure.
- The elevator layout is simply weird.

But the staff seemed nice...

So, maybe I expect too much? I dunno.

Hints for this hotel! - Call the hotel before you stay and find out what's going on! Avoid conventions and large weddings...trust me. Don't stay over the convention meeting rooms and do not stay down low to the pool if you want to avoid noise. West facing rooms may not see the surf, but they are likely the quiet ones (and the less expensive ones, too). Join HHONORS for the perks, like breakfast. Leave the fan ON (instead of auto) on the A/C to wash out noise.

Room Tip: West side rooms may be quietest and cheapest (no beach view). If need be, rearrange the sofa in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvin M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. We appreciate your comments about the noise and are actively working on addressing these issues with our staff. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall it was a good stay but I'm sure glad I didn't pay the going rate for the hotel. It's one of the nicer big chain hotels on the island & very busy.

Here's the good: nice heated pool, great food in the hotel restaurant, nice ocean view, great happy hour & lunch specials & most of the staff were courteous. Marcella in the restaurant was awesome!!!

Not so good: dirty carpet... Carpet in the hallway appeared to be in need of a real good cleaning ( stains everywhere). The carpet in our room-225-had a large red stain & the room smelled like smoke. The mattress was not comfortable at all. There is a dial to adjust firmness, but it didn't seem to work. Shower temperature would not stay consistent. The fridge didn't seem to work well at all. I only used it for water because it was never cold enough for food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalP, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear AMBMAM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will certainly be looking into the items you mentioned in room 225 and we well clean/repair/replace the fridge and carpet. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel, therefore there is no reason for the room to smell like smoke, and we will ensure that the room is thoroughly deodorized, and our housekeeping staff is more diligent about report such issues.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, and we hope that you give us one more chance to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

- Hershal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copperas cove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you plan to enjoy South Padre Island, stay somewhere else. Everything from poor parking, wrong room plan even though the type of room I asked for was available, nasty stained carpet, broken balcony door handle, dirty coffee pot, very low water pressure, shower head that came off when adjusted, little black bug the was jumping like crazy when I tried to kill it in the bathroom. All of this after driving nine hard hours to get to SPI.

Room Tip: My tip to you, spend your money somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CopperasCoveMarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. We’re very sorry your stay with us wasn’t everything you expected. We do our utmost to exceed every guest expectations and fulfill their satisfaction. We apologize we couldn’t deliver on that note for you and your spouse. We hope you will at least still consider us for the next time you visit SPI and give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've been going to South Padre for the last ten years. This is the first time we have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. Love the location on the north end of the island away from all of the traffic. They have a beautiful pool and a nice deck area with tables, chairs, chaises, umbrellas, etc., and there is access to the beach. You can tell when you enter the lobby that first impressions are important to them. The area is clean and has sofas and chairs to relax in and visit with friends. They have a bar and restaurant which we took advantage of on more than one night. Rudy is a wonderful bartender. Check in was quick and easy. We booked a partial view room and were very happy with it. It was room 235 and the balcony seemed to be above some air conditioning units which made it somewhat noisy but the view was great. They advertise the Garden Inns as having adjustable beds but ours were very firm and after talking with the desk someone was sent up to check on them. We couldn't tell any difference so keep in mind that the beds may be broken and you may not be able to adjust them. We just adjusted to the beds.(Wish they would just get mattresses like the Hamptons and Embassy.) All in all we had a great stay and would not hesitate to return or recommend to friends. Oh, on our last night there was a water pipe that broke just around the corner from our room. It set off the fire alarms and we all rushed out of our rooms to hear and see water. The young man who was at the desk did a wonderful job. Some people were very rude to him and he handled himself well. This happened about 1 or 2 in the morning and it was just him and one maintenance man on duty. We were up, dressed and packed because we were leaving in the morning so we decided to check out and give our room to someone whose was flooded. The young man did not charged us for that night. This speaks well for the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scraplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay and for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn. We have enjoyed reading your review as much as you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is pleased you had a great stay, took advantage of our restaurant, and enjoyed the pool area. We sincerely apologize for the diffilcultlies you experienced your last night staying with us. We greatly appreciated your patience and kindness with us on that day and for being thoughtful by letting another use your room. We can't thank you enough and we all hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
335 reviews
4.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing