We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!”

Southern Wave Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunset dinner cruises or Snorkeling trips with lunch a must. A visit to South Padre Island or Port Isabel wouldn't be complete without a sailing trip on Southern Wave. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a cool drink while the South Texas sun puts on it's spectacular evening sunset show for you... this is the perfect way to end your day and start your evening. You can lay in the South Padre Island sun on our spacious trampolines or relax under the covered canopy. Most mornings, we'll snorkel in the waters of the Laguna Madre, northwest of South Padre Island with delicious lunch. Afternoons may be spent Dolphin Watching, Picnicking or working on your tan. We have a grill on board so we can make your trip to South Padre Island special. In the evenings, we have a Sunset Dinner Cruise - the Chef grills an all-u-can eat Beef and Chicken fajita dinner picnic buffet style, grilled fish, jumbo grilled shrimp as appetizer, all you can drink bottled water and sodas, the hostess puts out fresh cut fruit platter, the musician plays great music. Of course in the summer, the Friday night fireworks are not to be missed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I reserved the snorkel trip a day before and were looking forward to it (we realized we should have booked a little further out). The morning of as we were walking out the door we received a call saying that they had to cancel it due to "mandatory inspection". We were a little bummed and they didn't have any other options but they called back within the hour to reschedule it for the same day. We were elated that they would do this.

We got there ahead of time and grabbed our snorkel gear (provided) and our cooler (you can bring your own alcoholic drinks on board) and staked our claim on the nets. We weren't full for a Friday...seven couples. We got out to our snorkel spot and it seemed like it would be deep from where you were based on land but you could stand up. We saw LOTS of fish and while we were snorkeling the crew was cooking. The had burgers and fruit and hot dogs. They were very attentive about being full and keeping the food and drinks flowing. The groups all got along together well and made friends easily in such close quarters. The captain's wife and baby were on board as well as another "crew" member. I think the captain did all the work and he was very nice. We enjoyed ourselves alot but we kind of got the feeling that the "mandatory inspection" meant the crew was hungover from the night before based on the way that the captain was talking about his hangover and we heard that one of the girls didn't even show up. But even if it was, they righted the situation and rescheduled and we had a great time. I would definitely do it again, probably at night!

Thanks guys! You are a great company!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    20
    3
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun trip, great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We took the evening dinner cruise on the catamaran. Went up and down the coast to see all the homes in the area and then fireworks at night. Great trip!

Casey, the captain and the chef all took great care of us.

My only complaint/suggestion for improvement is that the food line be more managed. Once the food was put in the middle of the guests, they all crowded around and started grabbing like they never ate before. Better solution would be for Casey to point to one person and ask him/her to start, then ask everyone in clockwise order to wait their turn then get up. Upon second and third course, start with someone else so everyone has a chance to be toward the start of the line.

Thanks for a memorable evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaeMcDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved the crew, the food, and the live music. Barbecued shrimp were delicious and the staff were nice and attentive. Make this part of your next visit on the island. I will bring my family back for another cruise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alltherowboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a must do for visitors to the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been to the island many times and sat on the deck of our condo looking over the Laguna Madre at sunset and waved at the passengers as they meandered by but we never had enjoyed the cruise itself until this evening.

Even though the weather was not as clear or warm as we would have liked it, when our son and daughter in-law came with our grandson for a visit we decided to splurge and take them on the dinner cruise. The staff was wonderful, the entertainment was spectacular as we were serenaded on the lazy trip up the Laguna on the catamaran. The food was better then expected and there was more than plenty for all with seconds and even some thirds to be had. My only complaint would have been the cost for children, to only pay $5 less for children that are 3 years to 10 is very questionable. Our Grandson is not yet 3 but if he was we would not have spent the near $45 it would have cost to take him as children I feel that are under the age of 7 or 8 you can not justify the cost, most just don't eat enough. Those would have been terribly expensive shrimp, the four that he did eat.

But all in all it was a very pleasant evening but really was more for adults than for children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vroomin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST Cruise in SPI!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been on the water many times and this is by far the best overall!!! Best atmosphere, best food, best employees!!! We went on the catamaran and Captain Sean is a great captain. Casey is there for you with anything you need. Lisa is in the ticket booth is a great help and her personality really sets the tone. They make you feel as family and want you to have the BEST time. The cruise is so relaxing and fun for all, you can take the best pictures. My family and I will be back. I recommend everyone coming to the island to take this cruise!!! This is a must on your vacation. They location is centered best among the bay side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Wave Sailing Charters also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Southern Wave Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing