We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and lots of it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senor Donkey

Senor Donkey
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lee's Summit, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food and lots of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stopped in for lunch. Our server advised us of the special and we all ordered it. When it came out it was one of the biggest burritos I've ever seen. Very good food and the service was great. Would eat here again. Also, love the T-shirts!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VegasPinkGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    147
    98
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch on So Padre Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great Mexican food. Had shrimp enchalada, was excellant

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorisoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glide, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food and Margaritas on South Padre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Last night, my wife, her parents and I happened upon the Big Donkey while trying to locate another restaurant. We were in the mood for Mexican food. My wife was hungry for taco soup. The place was fairly busy but they seated us right away. Our waitperson was superb, The taco soup was excellent. The grilled fish tacos were fabulous. The margaritas were the best we have had outside of Mexico. (Order the blue one.) We are definitely going back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgilles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
192 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“May be slipping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

There were mixed reviews from our party of four. While my Veracruz sea food platter was good, my spouse thought the cheese enchilada left a little bit to be desired and remarked that the quality did not seem as good the last time we were there (February 2011). For the size of the place, there were relatively few diners in the restaurant on a night when we noticed other establishments packed full for Mardi Gras.
Our server needs some training on how to do his job. It took several requests to get our water and more napkins. He was nice enough, but had the attention span of a gnat with sex on its mind.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bassn386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent food, and staff. Will return again and again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Donkey also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing