We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT choice for families!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Senor Donkey

Senor Donkey
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT choice for families!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The location is convenient to hotels on the N. end of the island, and the atmosphere is great for families and couples alike. Very unassuming, the food blew us away with it's authentic mexican flavors and the LARGE portion sizes! The Big Donkey Rita is worth every penny - more of a savory vs. sweet take on the Texas fav...the bathrooms are very clean and the staff friendly and approachable. The AUTHENTIC SOPAPILLS brought back loads of happy childhood memories...Can't say enough...so try it already!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    148
    100
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in the area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Quite a few people locals and visitors said if you want the real deal go to The Big Donkey.....they were right! If you like authentic and spicy go to this place!!! We loved it. We went twice in one week! But if you're truly a lover of Mexican food like I am, be prepared to drink a lot of water and/or margaritas! Hot!! The only thing I could say I didn't like but its just my personal preference is to tell them to hold back on the cilantro. Otherwise, this place is great!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, AR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“False Advertising”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We presented a coupon for drinks for $3 on Mondays. They refused to accept it saying it was only good on Weekdays!!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie72714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bland.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Food was okay - barely warm when served... service good - would have been much better had the food been hotter. Cheese was barely melted in enchiladas.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Yummy! Had good fajitas, huge margiritas, cold beer, and the service was great!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachluver02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Donkey also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing