We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Pier 19

Pier 19
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a comfortable casual family restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and diner. WE also have a full service bar.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I always thought this was just where the fishing trips left from...but after reading tripadvisor we decided to try the food.
Loved it. Great value, great selection, ample portions, sauces were wonderful. Would return without hesitation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We all appreciate your comments and business. Please join us in the future at our other locations Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Marcello's and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    457
    176
    58
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
224 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Skip the Food - But Enjoy the Sunset”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pier 19 Restaurant at South Padre Island is most definitely a tourist dining destination. While the food and service are average at best it's worth a trip to the pier and Hooker's bar (at the end of the pier) to enjoy the sunset.

On my most recent visit to Pier 19 I was disappointed that the general manager and kitchen manager had failed to order enough fresh red snapper to accommodate what would obviously be a busy night. In fact, my wife and I arrived at the restaurant by 6:00 p.m. and found the restaurant to be about 3/4 filled. Therefore, it came as a surprise that the red snapper supply was already depleated for dinner service. It should be noted that while our server could not be held accountable for this oversight by the management I was not informed by the serve that the menu item had been 86ed until some thirty minutes into our wait for the food to arrive. The rest of the evening saw a consistent lack of attention by the server as drink refills were delayed and the readjusted meal arrived approximately one-hour after the original order was placed.

As a replacement for the fresh red snapper I ordered the cold combo which consisted of boiled shrimp, ceviche, and raw oysters. The boiled shrimp were large and indeed well-prepared with a good sweet and succulent flavor. The ceviche was average at best and left unfinished. The raw oysters were fresh although quite small. They certainly do not compare to the raw oysters served at Dirty Al's for a mere $6.00 per dozen on Monday nights. The other member of my party ordered the chicken Alfredo. The pasta was angel hair and not fettuccini which is proper. The Alfredo sauch appeared to be either warmed over or perhaps even from a jar. The chicken breast was cut into thick slices and was dry and bland. The quality of the food for my party was below average at best and perhaps one might even make a case for poorly prepared.

The one redeeming feature of Pier 19 is the sunset that can be found at the end of the pier in Hooker's bar. The beer is cold, the seats are comfortable, the bar staff are attentive, and the sunset is spectacular. My recommendation is walk through the restaurant and make your way to the end of the pier and enjoy a drink and a SPI sunset. You'll thank me for this recommendation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tltalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate your business and comments. We are a very busy restaurant and yes we do run out of items and not on purpose. There are lots of items all being sent into the kitchen at once and when we run low or out its can be a issue letting the customer and staff know the exact circumstances. I assure our intention is great food, customer service, and a memorable experience. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south padre island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best value lunch on the Island”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Time for my summer reviews of restaurants I have visited on the Island. Went to Pier 19 for lunch and had the Grouper lunch special for $8.00. Had it blackened.. Great food for the price. Came with veggies. rice, and hush puppies. The blackening was just right, not too salty or spicy. Some on the Island will burn your tongue and mouth trying to impress. Not the case here, it was done properly. Great atmosphere, great food, great service and I believe one of the best places on the Island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcooktexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We all appreciate your comments and business. Please join us in the future at our other locations Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Marcello's and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THIRD TIMES THE CHARM!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have visited this place three times already and each time the service is always great!!! Big portions had the chicken Alfredo was yummy our waitress was attentive! Had a very nice personality she is the only blond and she's great at what she does!!! For sure I will visit again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorMtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We all appreciate your comments and business. Please join us in the future at our other locations Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Marcello's and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food, basic facility”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

the tables were a bit sticky. The food was great. Best we had on the island during our stay. the sunset and view were great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zanzibabe120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We all appreciate your comments and business. Please also visit our restaurants Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Pier 19, and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 19 also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing