We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, beautiful view!”
Review of Pier 19

Pier 19
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a comfortable casual family restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and diner. WE also have a full service bar.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The shrimp diablo with chipolte vinaigrette was absolutely stunning! The other menu items we tried were delicious a well. We were fortunate to have Cruz as our bartender/waiter. He was attentive and personable. Can't wait to return next year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CORRINE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

We thank all thank you for your comments. As a team we all strive for treating our guests with the best hospitality and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,524 - 1,528 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We spend a couple of months on SPI every winter. We dine at Pier 19 often, most of our meals are either breakfast or lunch. We find the staff to be so friendly ,the views to be outstanding, and the food to be consistently good. They have a great guitar player, Clay Moore, who plays Jazz during breakfast hours on Sundays. During the times that we've waited to be seated for breakfast, they've provided coffee and sweet treats while we waited. I believe this restaurant goes out of it's way to make sure you have a great experience. Sometimes the pace of service is a little slower, which I consider to be a plus, more time to enjoy the great view. I know that if I want fast, cookie cutter food, there are Denny's and McDonald's available nearby. For a day brightening restaurant, Pier 19 will always be our first choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becky1242891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

The Pier 19 team thanks you for your patronage and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This restaurant was highly recommended so we made a special point to go there. Food was just OK as the fish was overdone and sides were too greasy. Can't beat the location, however. It felt like we were on a dinner cruise!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerseytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank You for your comments. There is always a manager to accommodate any issues guests may have. We welcome you back and hope your issue was isolated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great food at good prices, but really enjoyed the many dolphins we saw off the pier.

Thank kimbenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

We all thank you for your comment and appreciate your patronage. Thank You for your recent post letting us and others know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Ate in the bar and watched the boats coming in. Food perfectly cooked. Casual and fun. Had 20-minute wait, but there was a plate of veggies w/dip, hush puppies, and hot coffee urn to serve yourself while waiting. Very nice!

Thank Peacenplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

We all appreciate your comments an feedback. Thank upu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 19 also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing