We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Yummies.........Perfect place, especially if you need a break from fried food.”
Review of Yummies Bistro

Yummies Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Harlingen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss Yummies.........Perfect place, especially if you need a break from fried food.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I visit the Island about 10 times during the summer and never miss a breakfast at Yummies. I'm typically not a salad eater but wanted something light for lunch and Yummies did not disappoint. I had the Combo salad which comes with a beautiful assortment of fruits, egg salad, tuna salad, and chicken salad. The soup was also excellent (shrimp and potato) yummy!!!! The plate was so impressive that I took a picture of it. Oh and the coffee is to die for. LOVE IT ALL

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12232011u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    238
    64
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Premier for Padre”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

There is not really much to brag about food wise on the island, especially if you have worn yourself out with fried food. BUT, Yummies does it right! I am slowly working myself through everything on the menu. Not a ho-hum thing yet. Last weekend my son and grandson ordered the bacon stuffed waffle with eggs on top, and I thought they might dissolve into a bliss coma. Shrimp and grits.... yummy, like the name says, Club sandwich... great, fresh ingredients, Salads...so much variety, delicious, Quesidillas, all kinds! I would eat here everyday if I could. It has certainly become a top favorite with our family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't miss, won't miss”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The minute we walked into this small and extremely clean family run establishment we knew we had found our S. Padre GO TO place for coffee, breakfast and lunch. The service is excellent, very accommodating and attentive. (I can imagine the place gets pretty packed in high season though, so be patient).
The second time we stopped in it was apparent they recognized us. We could tell from the other customer greetings that they took special care to remember their clientele, there were many "usual" customers.
Ours is a family of five and we had breakfast both days. Everyone loved what they ate. There were healthy options and they were helpful with dietary restrictions, offering reasonable substitutions. And did I mention clean? You can just tell the pride they have in their place.
Unfortunately, we learned about it late in our stay or we would have had more meals. They are not open for dinner, however. But just as well - We need some diversity.
They did have a bar area and wines visible, but we did not partake during this trip. We will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VinoMio_NYCluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super place!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent coffee. I had the iced coffee and even the ice cubes were made of coffee. Great service, too. It's a must if you like a good breakfast on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alltherowboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Small little shop only open until 2pm everyday. Extremely nice staff with simple and delicious meals. Drinks are a bit overpriced, but it being a "mom and pop shop" it only makes sense.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummies Bistro also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yummies Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing