We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best weekend ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Sunchase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suites at Sunchase
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Mesquite, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best weekend ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love this place and a special thanks goes out to the staff. I read some review and became very nervous but after we arrived it felt perfect. Lesa was the best as she made sure to come out and greet us as well as made sure that our wedding party rooms where just the way we wanted them. Our room was awesome as well, and we felt at home. Honestly we did not see or experience anything but the best there. Everything seem to fit the hotel. big elegant hotel with the smaller things to enjoy. We have found our new place to stay from here on out.

We now call the suite at sunchase our second home and wouldn't have it any other way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    25
    18
    33
See reviews for
44
36
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We visited the Suites at Sunchase over the Columbus Day weekend. If you want to avoid the crowds and still enjoy the beach, October is the perfect time of year to visit South Padre. Weather is beautiful, days are cooler and the water is still warm. Beaches are squeaky clean. As far as motels go, this one was as good as most, but the building is old and there were some areas that could use some repair.

Pros.
Covered parking. Part of the second floor is a parking garage.
Room was quiet. No noise form other guests, pools or parking lots. The 4th floor bar (Casablanca Lounge) that is mentioned in other reviews was not operational while we were there and it looked like it had been closed for some time. It didn't look like it could be operational any time soon.
There is a small pool. It was clean and looked like a good spot for kids.
Room was spacious, much larger than most hotels, The room had two big king size beds and a nice wardrobe, a table and a desk. It also had a kitchenette with a sink and cabinets. A/C worked well, but kind of noisy. No mold smell like some other hotels I have visited.
It was a good deal. We had a groupon for two nights for $150.00 (that includes tax)

Cons.
Only one working elevator... not a big deal for us since we were there in the off season. With a lot of guests it could be a problem.
Refrigerator didn't work and there was a note on it saying it was just an insulated cabinet, but the cord was lying on the floor behind it,
No beach access. Nope. Some condos have beach access: this one does not. The Suites at Sunchase is right on Padre Blvd; That is not exactly close to the beach. You can get to the beach if you are willing to wander through the parking lots and alleyways of the adjacent condos (we did and nobody even noticed us). But if you choose to take that walk carrying all of your beach goodies (umbrella, cooler, towels, kids), you are in for a hike. We used the public beaches while we were there.
Horrible pillows. Bring your own.
Vending area only has a soda machine.
There is a restaurant and a small fitness room with a treadmill and a multi-station weight machine. I didn't use either.
Overall ..not bad. I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice. I would rather have a beach access condo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerWilcoOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are winter texans and spend two months of the year on the island. We have stayed here since 2010 after looking at and staying at various other hotels . Great rooms and the staff is very friendly, the pool is real nice.It is centrally located. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went for a week-end family vacation and the experience was just OK, thinking ahead of time that I "would get what I paid for". The only real positive was the size of the room, which was plenty of room for us. The fridge did not work, which I knew would probably happen after reading previous reviews, so I made sure that we had a cooler. However, getting ice from the ice machine was an issue most of the time on the 3rd floor, and be prepared for a nice, long walk to get to the one on the 4th. The computer in the business center was archaic, and I finally just gave up on trying to use it. Also, you may need to think about bringing your own towels because getting extras may be an issue. If you just need a hotel for a place to sleep, this may work for you, otherwise choose some place else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two nights. The beds were comfortable and the suite was HUGE. I found the room clean and well kept, unlike some reviews I have seen. The staff was friendly and it was a nice touch that they put tooth brush, deodorant and other items in the rooms instead of me having to go to the front desk and ask. I had a bay view room and would say it was worth the price. Great stay!

Room Tip: The place is a little hard to find. Look at the picture of the hotel on the website. It kinda looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duaneide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My advice is not to stay on the 4th floor on a Friday or Saturday night if you plan to sleep! The live band played LOUD music from 9pm-3am that filled the entire 4th floor! Thankfully, my kids fell asleep but my husband and I were awake until after 3:00am despite playing white noise on our iPads to try and drown out the loud drums and guitar noise.
The rooms are very spacious and mostly clean. The location was pretty good...just a short walk to the beach.
There are no safes in the rooms to secure valuables, so we hauled our laptops and iPads to Schlitterbahn and locked them in a locker. We returned to our room at 5pm and our room had not been cleaned. It was clean when we returned at 6:30pm.
There is one rolling luggage cart for the guests to use to bring their luggage in/out. If you're lucky, you might be able to use it.
Parking was limited and spaces were very tight.
Overall, this hotel is acceptable if you're not on the 4th floor on a Fri or Sat night. Not worth the $160+ we paid online per night, though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingAggieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Tx
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is worth the money as we got a great spacious room i would say it was about 1000 square feet or more. This was our second stay here and we will continue to go back. Don't forget to visit the casablanca club on the 4th floor which has good music and drinks, plus you don't have to drive to other bars or clubs.

Room Tip: Ask to get into the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhscard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Sunchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Sunchase

Property: Suites at Sunchase
Address: 1004 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6605
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Sunchase 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 87 wonderful suites to choose from. We are 2 blocks from the beach and in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We have a wonderful pool and hot tub. All rooms have flat screen TVs, microwave, cooler and wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Suites at Sunchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Sunchase Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel At Sunchase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing