We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Sunchase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suites at Sunchase
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went for a week-end family vacation and the experience was just OK, thinking ahead of time that I "would get what I paid for". The only real positive was the size of the room, which was plenty of room for us. The fridge did not work, which I knew would probably happen after reading previous reviews, so I made sure that we had a cooler. However, getting ice from the ice machine was an issue most of the time on the 3rd floor, and be prepared for a nice, long walk to get to the one on the 4th. The computer in the business center was archaic, and I finally just gave up on trying to use it. Also, you may need to think about bringing your own towels because getting extras may be an issue. If you just need a hotel for a place to sleep, this may work for you, otherwise choose some place else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    24
    17
    32
See reviews for
43
35
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two nights. The beds were comfortable and the suite was HUGE. I found the room clean and well kept, unlike some reviews I have seen. The staff was friendly and it was a nice touch that they put tooth brush, deodorant and other items in the rooms instead of me having to go to the front desk and ask. I had a bay view room and would say it was worth the price. Great stay!

Room Tip: The place is a little hard to find. Look at the picture of the hotel on the website. It kinda looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duaneide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My advice is not to stay on the 4th floor on a Friday or Saturday night if you plan to sleep! The live band played LOUD music from 9pm-3am that filled the entire 4th floor! Thankfully, my kids fell asleep but my husband and I were awake until after 3:00am despite playing white noise on our iPads to try and drown out the loud drums and guitar noise.
The rooms are very spacious and mostly clean. The location was pretty good...just a short walk to the beach.
There are no safes in the rooms to secure valuables, so we hauled our laptops and iPads to Schlitterbahn and locked them in a locker. We returned to our room at 5pm and our room had not been cleaned. It was clean when we returned at 6:30pm.
There is one rolling luggage cart for the guests to use to bring their luggage in/out. If you're lucky, you might be able to use it.
Parking was limited and spaces were very tight.
Overall, this hotel is acceptable if you're not on the 4th floor on a Fri or Sat night. Not worth the $160+ we paid online per night, though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingAggieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Tx
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is worth the money as we got a great spacious room i would say it was about 1000 square feet or more. This was our second stay here and we will continue to go back. Don't forget to visit the casablanca club on the 4th floor which has good music and drinks, plus you don't have to drive to other bars or clubs.

Room Tip: Ask to get into the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhscard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Suites at sunchase is completely gross!!!! (Check out the pics I took.) The rates are 200+ a night complete ripoff! There were Huge roaches ( more than one ) the size of your room key. Really really dirty, broke down place... should be illegal for them to rent rooms at anything above 49.00. Found past neg reviews accurate. No air in the hallways, refrig not cool, long hike to room, no breakfast, no room service, no vending, no parking, no spa (that they advertise) no bathtub, just no no no... don't do it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank 25l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The common areas are sauna like, even upon check-in. The rooms are not only dirty but disgusting, the counter tops are coming unglued, no water pressure in shower, air conditioner makes strgange noises if it works at all, refrigertor does not work (all of the climate controls are removed), maintenance person was not able to fix the problems and then the staff is incredibly rude! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I loved it. location is great and the rooms are top of the line. Plenty of space in the room. Stuff in the room are updated and the staff is very friendly. The only thing i believe that needs to be changed is they need curtains in the room. (sunlight came through the window early)
and breakfast they should at lease give some cereal and fruit in the mourning. But i guess we cant have everything

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jags_fan1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Sunchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Sunchase

Property: Suites at Sunchase
Address: 1004 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6605
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suites at Sunchase 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 87 wonderful suites to choose from. We are 2 blocks from the beach and in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We have a wonderful pool and hot tub. All rooms have flat screen TVs, microwave, cooler and wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Suites at Sunchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Sunchase Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel At Sunchase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing