We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites at Sunchase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites at Sunchase
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The place is well located. You can go on foot to the best restaurants in SPI (Gabriella's and Yummie's) - just one block far away. There is also McDonald on one side and a Dennys on the other side of this hotel. I did not like the location of the pool (close to the main street). Note that this hotel does not have beach access, but the beach is close (just 2 blocks). If you want to spend the whole day on the beach, there are places you pay $4 to park your car and it is offered a basic structure (restrooms and showers). The staff was friendly. They gave us an upgraded room and did not charge extra for that. The room was clean, but the main hall was not. The water pressure from the shower was really too low and the air conditioner is in a horrible place - very close to the bed and also noisy and old. However, for the price, I would stay there again. SPI is a beautiful place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robidanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    25
    19
    33
See reviews for
45
38
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and when I was ready to checkout they tell me the system was down and they had to email me my receipt. I received the receipt the same day but noticed try have yet to charge me, took them about a week to withdrawal the money from my account. Next thing I know I was charged 3 nights when I really stayed 2 nights. I decided to give them a call and ask for Maria the lady that was handeling my account, and she would tell me they had charged me 2 night so I asked for the manger and she would always say shes not in, I said no I have the receipt and my bank statement showing me you charged me 3 nights. Now I had to deal with my bank and wait 60 days to see if they could contact sunchase try to dispute it to get my refund back. So my bank called me back and said they didn't answer, of course they didn't answer cause they know what they did. Never stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisssag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I absolutely loved staying here at this hotel. I kept trying to find one online that looked nice and was reasonably price and Suites at Sunchase turned out to be the one. The ONLY complaint I have was the water pressure from the shower was too low, other than that, it was an enjoyable stay. It wasn't too far of a walk from beach access one at all! My friends and I plan on coming back to the SPI and when we do, we will be staying at the Suites at Sunchase!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynaldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

room was dirty i hr to get another one ,fridge to small,we have to buy a cooler ice machine not wking,cleaning lady came to do the room tell her to wait she didnt cleanit ,complain form that day no one clean the room,awfull service people act as it they dont care no supervisor,i talk to Maria the manager she just laugh didnt care try to gv me one free night didnt took it,this people ruin my vacations,no beach access,bad service,rooms dirty,shower moldy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bui956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Staying at the Sunchase was wonderful! The rooms were always kept clean and towels were replaced rapidly. I was never disturbed while sleeping at the Sunchase by noise and I felt completely comfortable staying there! If and when I come back to Padre, the Sunchase is where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janceé C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The rooms were impeccably cleaned and organized daily. They were very spacious with room to put luggage. The beds were comfortable, and the mini-fridge and microwave sure did come in handy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_HPlainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The rooms are excellent and huge! A shower this big I've only seen in the penthouse at resorts in Mexico. The bed was out of this world and the pillows & linens were amazing. Flat panel tv and wet bar rounded out an excellent room. I did find it a little hard to see driving in but I had called to ask directions and was told to look for McDonalds two buildings before us. It was confusing as to where check-in/registration was and where to park. But the staff was very friendly and check-in was flawless. I had read reviews and asked for a room away from the night club. Glad I did. I slept like a baby, it was very quiet and I also asked for a bay view. Great view. I wish they had balconies. the reviews are correct the hallways are meandering and being away from the club means a long walk to your room. The pool was lovely and nice and warm. The restaurant was good, ate there twice. The hours are a little strange but then there's Denny's next door and McDonalds two doors down the other way. So many good restaurants on the island I had to try so this wasn't a big issue. I do wish they had something for breakfast. I didn't want to walk to Denny's and hall the food back up. I like to just throw something on and go back upstairs. The parking garage was another big plus for me. I'm not a big beach person so not being on the beach was no big deal for me. When I did go it was a 2+ block walk which I enjoyed. Next time I'll bring a group and enjoy the night club. It was fun, oldies but a lot of "islanders" were there. All in all I want to go back for sure. The price was great and still got a 4 star room!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garybgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#14 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Sunchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Sunchase

Property: Suites at Sunchase
Address: 1004 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6605
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suites at Sunchase 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 87 wonderful suites to choose from. We are 2 blocks from the beach and in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We have a wonderful pool and hot tub. All rooms have flat screen TVs, microwave, cooler and wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Suites at Sunchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Sunchase Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel At Sunchase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing