We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Suites at Sunchase

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites at Sunchase
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed September 25, 2011

It is very beautiful, very comfy, the rooms are big, the staff it's ok, the only thing that I will recommend its to change the curtains, everything is ok. Does not have a direct beach, the bar are just 1/2 mile distance, so is good excersice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YmlMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

This property used to be a mall that has been converted into suites. The rooms are large and the amenities are comfortable but that's about where it ends. The property DOES NOT HAVE direct beach access. We were told it was 2 blocks but is actually much further. Makes for a lengthy walk when you have family and beach gear in tow. Upon our return, kids wanted to play in the pool which did not last very long because the hot tub was spilling over into the pool and the pool was just as hot. The landscaping also needed cleaning and upkeep. Upon our return after dinner we were settling into what we thought would be a quiet night until the hotel bar opened & live band came on. The bar is located on the 4th floor adjacent to the rooms. Needless to say we didn't get restful sleep until 3 a.m. after closing and several phone calls to the front desk to quiet down bar patrons. Overall, if you go to SPI only on business its okay place to stay. Otherwise, it has its challenges for liesurly stays. No matter your stay, do request to stay as far away from the bar in order to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjrpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We arrived late at night. Parking is VERY dark (behind and under the building). Front desk is understaffed. Only one luggage cart. Business Center really isn't a business center. It's one SLOW computer and a printer. Elevators are scary! They bounce up and down about 2-3 inches as you're trying to get on and off. Housekeeping doesn't come when called. They cleaned my room one day and didn't leave coffee/cups. I called in the morning for them, but they never brought them. Had requested a room with 2 beds when booking. Arrived to a room with 1 bed and a sleeper sofa. No extra pillows or blankets in the room. I called down to get pillows for the sofa. Was told they didn't have any. I don't usually complain, as I think of hotels as just a place to sleep, but this was pretty bad, espeically for the price that was paid. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1969Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As a family, we did up South Padre Island for a 3day, 2nt stay at the Suites at Sunchase.... So, my first impression upon pull up was... Hmmmm? This is the hotel? After previewing the location online upon booking I was definitely anticipating something different. Although the location seems to be a bit dated underneath the three or four layers of modern upgrades, the front desk along with housekeeping staff were welcoming; in turn softening the initial bite of disappointment... I will note that the location does have 3 or more retail locations connected to including a local newspaper office and radio station housed on the reception floor... It did seem as if it was previously a large office building. No odors, and the room was 88% clean... We stayed in a suite equipped with a mini-kitchen, sleeper sofa, and and excellent third story view of the bay... Not the gulf... No biggie.. however, do note that the beach is a few blocks up and to the right from this location... My favorite part was the shower. Tiled, virtually from floor to ceiling and the pressure was on point and if it got any hotter , I would've burned my skin off :-) Would we stay again? Perhaps, but not with the kids in tote.. I kept finding strays of some OTHER woman's hair around.... GREAT VALUE, if you don't turn on all the lights or are expecting uniformed corporate staff....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileAndNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed here from July 17, 2011 until July 23, 2011.

If you are familiar with SPI, then you will know this place as "The Mall."

Someone decided that the mall would be more profitable as a hotel, so they built some rooms instead of stores. I looked at several rooms before picking the one that I'm stayed in... each room is different, but they seem to all be big, with a big bathroom, big closets, HDTVs w/cable and HBO, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. You can tell that this was transitioned from "something else" as you walk through the hallways - looks like original "mall" tiles (not dirty, just unusual looking because they don't completely match the direction of the hallways). Some rooms have remnants of the Mall, one room had floor to ceiling mirrors in the bedroom that was left over from a store (might be the "honeymoon suite" now).

The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly & my kids liked the pool (just a normal pool).

Here are the things to consider:
1) This is not on or within walking distance to the beach, but that should be obvious
2) The Bathrooms have large stand-up showers, but no bathtubs (perhaps you like bubble baths?)
3) There is a bar on the 4th floor (top floor). The live band/music from the bar is loud enough to be heard in Room 422's "living area," but not too much from the bedroom. (you might want to ask to be "away from the bar.")
4) They offer wireless internet service, but it is horribly sloooooooooooow. If decent Internet access is important during your stay, then this isn't the place for you. (probably slower than a 2G wireless card).
5) My kids pointed out that this "hotel is not full of sand" as are the hotels on the beach (perhaps you appreciate a sand-less hotel?)
Bottom line is...
Decent price for a large and decent room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superjoe563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I am not sure where everybody else is staying that write these horrible reviews. Parking was easy to find. They have these HUGE rooms. We stayed in a suite with 2 KING size beds. The hotel has plenty of staff. They helped take our luggage from the car to our rooms, and when leaving they loaded up the luggage and took it to our cars. My kids played for hours in their pool. I liked that the pool was small, so I could easily keep an eye on the kids. The small cafe next to the hotel was open and even offer to go orders for those staying at the hotel. Staff was always around cleaning, they have pool towels available at the front desk. We will be back. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but it's not Travelodge either. By the way, the hotel does have Wi-Fi, just not the room. You will need your cable, or just go to the lobby like I did.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommy3traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Had a wonderful stay! Great Staff, very helpful..Really enjoyed the bar ...lots of dancing, Really excellent Band! Look forward to our next visit!!---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxmako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,620 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
89 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Sunchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Sunchase

Address: 1004 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6605
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range: $61 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Sunchase 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 87 wonderful suites to choose from. We are 2 blocks from the beach and in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We have a wonderful pool and hot tub. All rooms have flat screen TVs, microwave, cooler and wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites at Sunchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Sunchase Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel At Sunchase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing