We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to dolphins!”
Review of Fins to Feathers

Fins to Feathers
Ranked #1 of 44 Tours in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: SMALL GROUP DOLPHIN TOURS Fins to Feathers is committed to education and conservation through experiential learning. We create the experience of observing wild and free bottle nose dolphins in the Lower Laguna Madre Bay. We have been using the Laguna Skimmer, our 35' Catamaran to provide this service for 18 years and the dolphins know and love us….
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very close to dolphins!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I thought the trip out to see the dolphins was excellent. We rode on a pontoon boat that was able to hold 7 people, including the driver, and a dog. The dolphins recognize the boat and swim right up to it. The dog is very friendly and loves people. She came up to us, but she wasn't jumpy and she wasn't incredibly snuggly. We went out to the end of Padre, called Dolphin Point, and we were surrounded by dolphins enjoying the waters. There are no reservations, you just call the morning of the trip and schedule it then. It is tons nicer and more personal than the big dolphin watching boats. I give it a 9.8/10!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterville
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Book, book, book! Well worth the trip! Dolphins galore (dog & pig too)”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Best money we spent on South Padre Island! A very reasonable charge for a boat ride around the bay area. Embark from Port Isabel and take a trip with Rozzi the dog and his new companion, a pig! Who knew dolphin watching would be so much fun with a dog. Scarlett, the amazing dolphin whisperer would shout "I do believe in dolphins" and Rozzi jumps to the boats edge and begins looking. I'm sure the dolphins know Scarlett's boat sound and her voice. Absolutely amazing. Bring sunscreen, as only two seats on the boat are shaded. Don't forget your camera!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Comical and educational!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family, friends, and I loved this tour. The experience with the guide and his dog was more fun than the dolphins! This is also a great tour for bird watchers. If we ever go back to padre we will return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quirky and Fun”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a great trip. We saw dolphins for an hour straight within 30 yards. They did 5 flips and lots of other great fun to see. The crew was really fun and you could tell they love dolphins. It was a truly personal experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexarkanaTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good small group”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We did dolphin watching twice during our trip. Once on a big boat with Breakaway, and the second time with Fin and Feathers. The smaller boat (only 6 passengers) made for a much nicer experience. We got closer to more dolphins and had a much better view. It is well worth the extra money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins to Feathers also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fins to Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing