We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to stop!!!”
Review of Sandcastle Lessons

Sandcastle Lessons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are pleased to be the premier sandcastle lesson company in the USA and operate exclusively from the Pearl South Padre Hotel on South Padre Island. Our aim is to make your family vacation one remember, and we supply everything - you just bring your smile, water, and Sunblock. We recommend that you secure your booking before your visit by e-mail, phone or text (please include your name if texting). (** we have a new booking engine on the site - Jan 2017 credit cards accepted) Instructor Andy Hancock will be pleased to help you build the castles of your dreams using 3 simple steps and no previous experience or creative ability is necessary. Our job is to make sure that in one lesson you have all the skills and tools you will need for a lifetime of building on the beach. We don't watch the clock as we are too busy watching our clients have fun. Your FREE full toolkit in included for the truly inspired! - See you on the best beach in Texas! South Padre Island is the Sandcastle Capital of the World and we can prove it!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We didn't want to stop!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I were on the island for a wedding, so we had limited down-time. We had to pick one activity to do, and we are SO glad we picked Andy's lesson! He was hilarious, super talented, and so helpful. We had such a good time building the castles that we didn't want to stop and go to a wedding. We are already planning another castle date soon! Andy really couldn't be any cooler!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Andy is great ( even if he is a Man City supporter). He was wonderful with our group of 9 people ages ranging from 2 to 12 and 2 adults. Not only was the lesson about sandcastle building, we even had a little history and science thrown in and in a way the kids loved. The lesson starts with a demonstration of how to start to build a sandcastle and then how to use the tools to produce differing techniques. Then its up to you , you can build whatever you want and as many things as you want in your time frame, for our group size I am glad we choose the 2 hours as it flew by as if it was 10 minutes. It was a very hot day and there was free water and a shower nearby to keep cool, even then a couple of the kids got too hot, no problem they just went sat in the shade and came back when they were ready. Andy even took time to make a Pikachu face for my son!!
Hopefully we will be back in South Padre next summer and if we are my family will definitely be visiting Andy again.

If you are planning a trip to South Padre and looking for activities to do this would be first on my list every time, highly highly recommended.

Thanks again Andy!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best part of our July 4th trip to SPI!!!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My 6 and 4 year olds loved their 2 hours with Andy. Never got bored and are still talking about it. My kids now prefer building sandcastles instead of playing in the water. Originally I was going to take the time and relax a bit with the wife while Andy kept the kids occupied. However, they were having so much fun I had to jump in. Great teacher, learned a lot and we were able to implement the skills quickly. We will do lessons again on next visit to SPI. Thanks for skills and memories.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sandcastles!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Andy is great! We learned a lot of sandcastle building skills. This is our favorite part of our trip to South Padre Island! We will definitely visit Andy next summer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous fun!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been coming to south padre for over 40 years. First as a child and now as a parent. . Andy was fabulous! We learned so much and now have some great tools and ideas to have fun on the beach. So grateful that we found him and this is definitely worth the money!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Lessons also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sandcastle Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing