We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WindWater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WindWater Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Great Falls
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been coming down to SPI for portions of 11 winters, starting with a couple of weeks and now for several months. We have stayed at the Wind Water for 10. We love being on the boat channel and near the Birding Center and the dunes. The current owners have made some great improvements this season including new tile floors, new countertops and new tile bathrooms. The hot tub and internet connections are good and yesterday they added new machines in the laundry room and a new waffle machine in the breakfast room. I'm not sure what those whiners are writing about, but it doesn't match our experience with the staff and facilities. We think it is a good vacation value. The beaches and dunes are the cleanest we've seen since we started coming down here to avoid some of our Montana winters.

Room Tip: west side rooms on the boat channel have patios that are situated to protect from north and south wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWWRTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    37
    22
    62
See reviews for
86
66
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 1/26/13 and rented 2 rooms 113 and 114.There were people in the swimming pool making noise up until 430 in the morning and aside from getting no sleep as i was checking out in the morning there was no one at the front desk so i started to whistle so i could get someones attention thats when i believe her name dora comes in and very rudely says "im not a dog,you dont need to be whistling you can say hello" as i expressed my opinion on the noise from last night she said "oh well you are more then welcome to call the police" i asked what the pool hours were and she said theres was no hours just as long as there was no noise being made.All in all a horrible experience all way around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank willie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My son and I checked in thought the first night was ok but on the second night the roaches came out horribly so they moved us upstairs and the second room had roaches so when i asked what our chances were of a third room being roach free the desk said "mam I dont know what to tell you" I told them we were checking out and we did at midnight in our pj's. So unless you don't mind sleeping with the creatures don't go here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tammyk1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Do not stay at Wind Water! We found a good deal for this place on Expedia and decided to book a room. Bad idea! The receptionist at the front desk was rude and they had what appeared to be a porno (multiple nude scenes on rated R movie) playing on the lobby TV. Luckily we don't have children but it was extremely inappropriate. When we walked into the room the odor was awful! We went to check out the rest of the room, walked into the bathroom and there was a HUGE roach on our bathroom towel! We had seen enough and went to find another hotel to stay at. We spoke to the front office receptionist and she informed us that she could not give us a refund since we booked through Expedia. We had to speak to Expedia and unfortunately were not able to get a full refund. Also, when we went in to tell the receptionist that there was a roach in the room and that it was dirty, she proceeded to call her head housekeeper to check on the room. She was on the phone with her and of course said that the room was perfectly fine. Why would we lie?!?!?!? If you are looking for a nice place to stay while visiting the island, do not stay at WindWater! Save your money, and your time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miriam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The staff at the Wind Water is very courteous and professional and very willing to accomodate your needs as a traveler. My wife and I were very pleased at the friendliness of Jay and Kirsten at the front desk. They were very prompt in answering my calls and returning them within a reasonable amount of time prior to my travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexB0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The pictures on Expedia's website and the actual place are hardly synonymous. The queen-sized beds are NOT queen-sized. In order to get fresh towels, you have to physically go down to the front desk and bring your used towels and trade them for fresh ones. And the ones that were (considered) fresh, were not white - more like a dingy white. One of my traveling companions went to use their computer and it was merely a small laptop. Uh, OK. But she was also advised that she could utilize the keyboard to the laptop and would have to use a keyboard underneath instead - and there were keys that were either missing or not working. Another traveling companion wanted to wash her hair and requested some shampoo. The clerk's response was, "Well we don't have any shampoo but we have plenty of toothpaste." What does brushing your teeth have to do with washing your hair? I know both are grooming habits and while necessary, they aren't one and the same. You also had to hold the handle down while flushing the toilet. And let me not forget to mention that the microwave had a live roach on the inside of the door. Please BYPASS this place whether you're driving or web-surfing for a place to stay while visiting South Padre Island. Please and thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rooms could stand to be updated. Our fridge didn't work and 30 min after reporting it, it got replaced. For the price of $37 a night during the week it's a good value, not fancy but appeared clean. The breakfast was pretty bad so plan on eating a taco at Stripes or at a restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't get by the pool on weekends it will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindWater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Property: WindWater Hotel
Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7633
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing