We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful spring break”
Review of WindWater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WindWater Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
“wonderful spring break”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

i went down to South Padre Island for spring break and stayed at this hotel! and i have to say it was worth my drive, money and vacation! rooms were decent enough and great front desk service! i would recommend anyone to Wind Water Hotel. i really enjoyed my spring break!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    43
    26
    65
See reviews for
100
79
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had reserved three rooms with this windwater, when we got there they asked if we would like to upgrade to a 3 bedroom condo. It turned out to be same price as the 3 rooms, which was awesome. It was nice for everyone to be in the same room, and to have a huge balcony on the bayside was great. I appreciate the upgrade this kind of service is what keeps us going back to this hotel. I know they always have the best price on the island and the service is always great. Hope we can make another family trip before the busy summer season starts.

Thanks Windwater Staff!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for their condos, they dont have them online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Don't let the pictures fool you. Wind Water is neither a hotel nor a resort. True it is located adjacent to the marina but with only a tiny path and railing by the water. Nothing like in their picture. The hot tub was cold. Pool was ok. Continental breakfast was lacking ... no bread for toast ... who puts peanut butter / jam on waffles ? Other guests music was disturbingly loud on balcony.

Room Tip: Request Deluxe Room if you want to view the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I saw this hotel in hotels.com and, for the money (40 a night) I decided to stay there (back in August 2009) for the night...and it was alright with me...beds are good, bathroom as well and the internet connection is pretty good...breakfast was cereal, juice and bread, but, I mean, for the price is great and the beds are comfortable...it was on the other side of the Padre Blvd. (is not a beachside hotel, but it faces to some lake behind it)...I love it...and it was a very good price, considering how expensive were mostly of the island hotels...and the quality is pretty okay...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YezkaFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Nice hotel, clean rooms and getting delightful service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atit60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I was in South Island for a weekend when I stayed at this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that's on business or leisure. The patrons of this hotel is a good mix of some families and couples. Because there are so many people from all over the place, you get to meet a lot of interesting people.

The rooms are very nice. The hot tub is perfect for a warm soak after a long day. The daily breakfast is very good. The staff of this hotel is extremely accommodating. I extended my stay at the last minute and they made sure that I didn't have to change rooms. The gentleman that works the night shift goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxspursxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. All the teenagers enjoyed there time here. They have great room services. And the best local price. I wouldn't have wanted to stay any where but here. When I come back I'm staying here at Wind Water Inn. Great jobs guys.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharti0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
669 reviews
2.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindWater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Property: WindWater Hotel
Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7633
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Padre Island
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing