We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We're coming back"”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"We're coming back"”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Say what you want, but the Days Inn in SPI was a lot of fun. Very relaxing and the staff was polite and friendly. The room was clean and festive. We were given extra towels and coffee when asked for without hesitation. We spent our honeymoon here and had an outstanding time, met several people from everywhere while at the pool. Yes, there are better places to stay, but you can't beat the price and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mt_stvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    22
    22
    53
See reviews for
51
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I was told the room was nonsmoking but it reaked of smoke.All of my personal items smelled of smoke when we left.The lobby is dark and dingy and needs an overhaul.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Wichita, Ks.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I also can't believe the poor reviews on here. I stayed here for 10 days and had a wonderful stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean and the location was close to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's not The Ritz, mind you, but for the price it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I just had a look at the other reviews and was shocked! We didn't have any problems with this place at all, our room was spotlessly clean, included a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, free internet and continental breakfast for $35.99 a night. The continental breakfast is pretty minimal (cereal, bagels, donuts and muffins), and the "hot tub" wasn't very hot, but those were our only complaints, and at that price, it didn't matter. It's about a 5 minute walk to either side of the island (ocean or gulf). It's on the main strip, and there are several very good restaurants within a 10 minute (or less) walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SjBrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Decent place to stay if you don't plan to spend all your time at the hotel (and with the beach right down the street, why would you?). Parking lot is somewhat small and full of trucks, but not really a problem when I stayed as occupancy was fairly low. Looks like they did a lot of painting/cleaning/upgrading after Hurricane Dolly, but beds are VERY soft and could lead to backaches.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I've stayed at a few places on SPI, Travelodge, Wanna Wanna and Ramada, but the Days Inn is the best of them and the best value. Booking at the door it was $45 inc tax for a late August stay (and $10 cheaper than hotwire's so called deal at this hotel, so beware of them) The rooms were smart clean and just like in the picture on their website. The bathroom sinks area was particularly pleasant. The free breakfast was simple but more than adequate and the free internet actually works. The much criticized pool was spotless (and pretty large for a hotel of this type) I can only think that, looking at some of the other terrible reviews, that this place has been heavily renovated and redecorated recently (perhaps after Dolly>) because I don't think you'll find a nicer hotel for the price on SPI. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I made reservations a week before booked 2 rooms with King size beds, I was so impressed, we ended up with rooms right in front of the swimming pool which feels heated and a hot tub which also nice. The rooms were brightly decorated in blues and greens, towels folded into sea shells. The bed was so comfortable, the room was very clean, enjoyed it so did my family... To get to the beach you have to cross 2 streets and walk in between buildings. Also the mini-breakfast was ok..But we had a great time...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
616 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3913 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7229 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Days Hotel South Padre Island
Days Inn South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing