We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Granbury, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed April 30, 2006

1st thing when we got there they were advertising a lower price than what we paid and lied to us, said it was invalid for our stay, rate stayed posted more than $10 a night less than what we paid all except the last night we were there.
Contiental breakfast consisted of coffee (powdered creamer & sugar), bagels (no cream cheese) marg/jam, powered & choc donuts & oj.
The room appeared clean until we took off our shoes and walked around then the souls of our feet were black as coal! Texture was falling from the bathroom ceiling.
On our 3rd day there my sd card and reader were stolen from the room. When I reported it to the desk they were barely concerned. When I checked back to see if they had spoken to the staff I was treated as though I had done something wrong! The last day we were there I put on the jacket I had on the day it went missing from my laptop and it was magically in my pocket! Bad for them since the day it went missing was chilly and I had my hands in my pockets most of the day!!! An apology would have gone a long way. The day after the thieft, our room was not made up, sheets were left on one chair and towels left on the other, we got back to the room after 7pm so I just made up the beds myself.
The pool needs a paint job and repair as does the hot tub. The pool side furnature has been repainted recently :)
This hotel needs some serious staff training (English classes would be nice! This is the USA we speak english here!) carpets steamed clean and repairs.

There was one really nice fellow that worked in the early morning hours (set out the breakfast), HE was always pleasant and did try to help us when we told him of an issue.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loni1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    22
    22
    53
See reviews for
51
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2006

We stayed at the Days Inn for 5 nights. It was great, the rooms clean, service was excellent. We were there during spring break, we wanted to stay another night, it wasnt a problem. The mangers on duty several time recomomend great pizza places around the island. We were staying at America's best Value Inn. That was a dump, dont waste your money. With only a few hours notice the Days Inn,worked us in. GReat job guys.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Stay was fine until check out. We paid cash for the room and were charged on our C.C. Mgr/owner stated that he could not find any discrepancies. We paid over $400.00 for two nights. We will not return.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 19, 2004

My husband and I stayed one night and almost decided to stay two. The bed was great the cost was wonderful. The staff was nice.. and recommended a great resturant. We enjoyed our stay..

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2004

This hotel sucked. We had reserved the room months in advance when we arrived the lady could not find our reservations so she called a 800 number and sure enough there we were. So anyways we got a handycap room with the shower only about 4 ft tall and we are both over 5 ft. We met some people outside at the pool and we had a few beers in our room, we left and so did our guests. We were not gone very long and was walking to our room and there were the two guys we were drinking beer with....
they were in our room!!!!!!!! We asked them how they got in and they said they got a key from the guy at the desk.!!! If we were gone any longer we probally would have had all of our stuff stolen!! After that we stored all stuff in the car. So we talked to the guy at the desk and he told us that they said they knew us and they needed to get in to the room. I was like wow!!! Never again will I go to this hotel. Also way to far from the beach!!!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#14 of 32 in South Padre Island
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3913 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7229 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Days Hotel South Padre Island
Days Inn South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing