We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Value for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at South Padre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at South Padre
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Chandler, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped in for the night and found it a great place to relax. This is a small hotel but I was impressed with the pool and the breakfast. They had free breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage and other regular items. Upon check-in I asked for the best internet rate and got $40 off for each night. The only downside is that they do have water bugs that loo like large cockroaches. I think because they are on the humid Island these bugs happen to be there. If they don't bother you then you will be fine but you will see them. The Manager showed me their book showing they exterminate every month. If I go back to Padre I will stay here. It is an older hotel but for families on a budget it has a small resort feel and the water is just a couple of blocks away. There is a lot to do for families within walking distance like go-carts, seafood buffet, and other things. It made for a lovely vacation.

Room Tip: Get closest to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
42
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel room was not as it was described on the website. It did not have a sleeper sofa, the jacuzzi tub knobs were broken off and the room was filthy. On the plus side, the pool area was nice and the staff was super friendly. Still, it wasn't worth the price and I won't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I sincerely appreciate the staff at this hotel, they were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and afforded my boyfriend and I, a restful night. Thanks to the Inn staff for recommending an "unchain" breakfast joint.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firedragon3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Inexpensive hotel at SPI.Awesome Hotel.Great breakfast, enough for everyone, even though there was a lot of people.Just make sure you get there early or on time to enjoy your breakfast and the staff was really friendly and wanting to go the extra mile toward your experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnathan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me start off by saying, the hotel looks NOTHING like the online photos. They do a great job of creating an allusion that this is a top notch hotel. Once you pass the front desk, the halls smell of mold. The carpets are absolutely dirty and the tiles are disgustingly sticky. We got a "King Suite with Jacquzzi". Pieces of the Jacquzzi are falling off, and it looks like at any minute it will fall out of the wall. Mold is all over the place, painted over with white paint. The tile in the rooms is dirty and sticky, so bad that you won't want to walk barefoot on it. The walls have holes and scratches all over them. The refidgerator was missing the temperature knob, we had to use pliers to move it to cool. To top it off, gnats are EVERYWHERE along with mosquitoes. The drains are broken and the walls are paper thin. The housekeepers are terrible, IF they actually clean your room, all they do is replace the towels, fix the bed, and take out your trash. The pool is moldy and dirty...DO NOT STAY HERE. Spend a little more money and stay on the north side of the island. The only reason I even gave it one star is because there is not a "NO STAR" rating. I have no idea how this place passed any type of health inspection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel after a fun time of miniature golf with our friends in the evening, we were "welcomed" by very loud music from a night spot across the street--'til 2pm!! To minimize this loud music, do not take even-numbered rooms nor the end rooms which have a nearby Pier bar with late-night music too! Also, we had to call the front desk as the occupants next door were very loud--at 4 in the morning!! Although they were encountered and temporarily got quieter, the level of noise was easily heard once again through the very thin walls--"sleepless" in South Padre 'til 5am!
This "2 star" level hotel at the price of a "3 star" one, while a good size with 2 queen beds, a sink, and mini-fridge, had a shower with very low water pressure and a tub which felt "soft" upon standing on it. Wi-fi access was inconsistent--1 day of 3! A good thing the staff did was allow us to check in early and moved us (Mary had an excellent attitude to accommodate us) to another room when noise trouble had arisen.
The breakfast included eggs, biscuits, waffles, weak coffee, juice, milk, and cereal; no fruit. Get there early because it gets crowded and seating is ltd. It was on the busy main street and only 2 blocks from the beach with easy access.
Will look elsewhere next time we visit the island--and will consider off-season for beach side hotel at better prices--or look harder during peak. You get what you pay for during the summer season!!

Room Tip: Avoid even-numbered rooms and end rooms to minimize night-life music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all it was overpriced for what we got I advise to stay at the Pearl down the street because its the same price for a better room and view. The building and rooms were outdated including the tube television that had very few channels. The staff was not very helpful and housekeeping took all of our towels and only left two. The pool was dirty and crowded and the jacuzzi wAs the size of a kiddie pool. We had a room with a jacuzzi tub but the dials were broken. Overall terrible experience and I would recommend you stay somewhere else. The photos online are very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnson7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at South Padre

Property: The Inn at South Padre
Address: 1709 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6701 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at South Padre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to South Padre Island in Texas and stay at our family friendly hotel. We welcome you and your loved ones to stay as we have many amenities to suit everyone's needs. Enjoy all that South Padre Island Hotels have to offer from the comfort of our tastefully decorated guest rooms and the convenience of our central location, where the beach, bay, restaurants, bars and retail shops are all within walking distance. Tropically landscaped pool and Jacuzzi Complimentary Hot Breakfast daily from 6:30 to 9:30 Complimentary WiFi throughout entire property Evening movie showing at the pool (seasonal) - popcorn, ice cream, and snacks available Meeting facilities Guest laundry facilities Ice and vending on each floor Activities desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
Howard Johnson South Padre Island
South Padre Island Howard Johnson
s Padre Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing