We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Doesn't look a thing like online photos” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at South Padre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at South Padre
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't look a thing like online photos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all it was overpriced for what we got I advise to stay at the Pearl down the street because its the same price for a better room and view. The building and rooms were outdated including the tube television that had very few channels. The staff was not very helpful and housekeeping took all of our towels and only left two. The pool was dirty and crowded and the jacuzzi wAs the size of a kiddie pool. We had a room with a jacuzzi tub but the dials were broken. Overall terrible experience and I would recommend you stay somewhere else. The photos online are very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnson7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
42
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at South Padre several times. The rooms have been recently upgraded and the staff are marvelous. They cannot do enough for you. Excellent free breakfast every morning. Great swimming pool, close to beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiser, Idaho
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is very clean and family friendly. The staff are all so attentive also. There is a fairly good size pool with a small jacuzzi and also clean. The breakfast is great with a good variety of hot food. Free WiFi! Sure it is a older place but has been taken care of well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are on the first floor and have the doors open toward the side road. It would mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcelhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Older hotel that has not been maintained. Everything appeared to be dated and worn, especially the towels. Seeing this makes me wonder about what else is being neglected. For the rate we paid, i expected more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamadoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
258 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pam is the manager and Pam is wonderful. Pam cares about her guests. The staff are very nice. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. The hotel has a great hot breakfast. Free breakfast. Free parking. Free internet. Free Wifi. In the evening, there was a family friendly movie at the swimming pool area. Free coffee 24/7. A gracious and welcoming hotel. New management is working hard to make this hotel look new again, so expect to see renovations here and there.
Hints: I live a few miles from the Island. I avoid the island on spring break. During spring break, the island gets crowded with young people, and every condominium and hotel has to work to keep crowds of spring breakers who are not guests away from the pool and the free breakfast if they serve breakfast. During spring break, expect extra security like wrist bands and door guards at spring break at many places on the island. Off season, the island is a gracious, slow-moving place that is great for older folks like me. The drive-through part in front of the hotel does not directly lead to the hotel parking lot. You have to circle the block to get back to the hotel parking lot. It’s easier to park on the side of the hotel and walk to the lobby. Pam knows great things to do on the island.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view, and got a room on the second floor, facing away from the street. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djfluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I got this reservation through a local half price special, so my stay was cheap. Still, the first room they gave me had a toilet that sounded like a screeching truck when it flushed and the safe didn't work. We were given two small pillows per bed so we asked for two extra pillows. We had to ask four times for the pillows. By 11:00 that night (pool closes at 10:00) people were out at the pool, very loud, and staff were not in a hurry to close the pool. Doors didn't close well. It is a very friendly place, but they definitely need to work harder to make this worthy of the "resort" description.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the pool or your sleep will be disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alltherowboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for the weekend before the spring break week in Texas. Although, it was a little pricier than other similar quality hotels in the area, we decided to go with it because it had decent reviews at priceine.com and it was in a good location.

Unfortunately, our experience at the hotel was more than frustrating. We booked the hotel through priceline.com and we paid with our credit card in advance.
The moment we arrived, they announced us that because spring break was coming up, we would have to put a security deposit of $250 and that they force their residents to wear wristbands which they check at the entrance to make sure that no outsiders enter the hotel. And that they charge $15 per person for the wristband!!! We were 4 people, so we would have to pay $60 extra!

The reservation policy I got from priceline.com listed that there was no security deposit and did not mention anything about extra charge for the wristbands. I was OK with the deposit, because I knew we weren't going to break anything, but I though the deal with wristbands was ridiculous and I tried to tell them nicely that we shouldn't be paying for the wristbands, since there was no such agreement when we booked the hotel. They did not agree and after a lot of arguing and frustration we decided to pay for the wristbands, since we had not other option. Needless to say that was just a way for them to make money, because nobody really checked if we were wearing a wristband or not when we were entering the hotel. Out of frustration, I actually never wore mine, but nobody ever cared.

As if all that was not enough, I went to check out, they told us that the room we used (2 queen beds) was supposed to be used by 2 persons but we were 4, and so they would have to charge us $40 more. When I asked them why they did not tell us anything when we checked in, although they saw all four of us and gave us four wristbands to wear, they said that they forgot about it!!

Very rude staff. Never using that hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vang001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#17 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at South Padre

Property: The Inn at South Padre
Address: 1709 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6701 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at South Padre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to South Padre Island in Texas and stay at our family friendly hotel. We welcome you and your loved ones to stay as we have many amenities to suit everyone's needs. Enjoy all that South Padre Island Hotels have to offer from the comfort of our tastefully decorated guest rooms and the convenience of our central location, where the beach, bay, restaurants, bars and retail shops are all within walking distance. Tropically landscaped pool and Jacuzzi Complimentary Hot Breakfast daily from 6:30 to 9:30 Complimentary WiFi throughout entire property Evening movie showing at the pool (seasonal) - popcorn, ice cream, and snacks available Meeting facilities Guest laundry facilities Ice and vending on each floor Activities desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
Howard Johnson South Padre Island
South Padre Island Howard Johnson
s Padre Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing