We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shrimp diablita superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
El Paso
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Shrimp diablita superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Their award winning shrimp is worth the visit. Fumi salad of cabbage, sesame seed and slivered almonds with light dressing is wonderful. Skip and baked potato. Service okay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    197
    75
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shrimp like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A shrimp diablo dish--taste of Heaven! Shrimp with pineapple cream cheese and jalapeños wrapped in bacon. Outstanding! My husband had Mexican and said it wasn't any better than what he gets back home

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Starrs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkport, New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great casual place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is small and nothing fancy. Good food at reasonable prices. No white table clothes. I had the caldo marisco. (seafood soup and my husband had a great, large salad with a large pile of grilled shrimp on it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 52607Smiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average seafood place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came here to try something new. My husband and I split a shrimp cocktail and some of those camaronitos diabolitos or however you say or spell it as appetizers. I wasn't impressed with either. I thought the cocktail sauce was bland and the wrapped shrimp thing wasn't thrilling. I've had better at bbq's. I got the fish and shrimp combo. Shrimp was ok. Fish wasn't cooked thoroughly. It was a bit raw on the inside for my liking. My husband left his entire fish untouched after tasting mine. Didn't even want to take it to go. It was bad. Good sized portions but not enough reason to go back. We'll go back to Dirty Al's for this price point and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TallTXRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hands down best fish tacos I ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We chose this restaurant because of its high ratings and they were spot on. Just driving by it probably never wouldve caught our eye! My husband had the bacon wrapped melt in your moutn shrimp and I had the tastiest fish tacos and charr beans ever tasted! I was actually sad when the food was gone and I was full, didnt want the experience to end! Its unfortunate that it isnt on the beach somewhere with a nice sunset and bigger drink menu but it is what it is, a quaint little place amazing food! We will enjoy several more meals here before heading back to the Midwest!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing