We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & price”
Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food & price”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Seems simple but they had the best iced tea of anywhere we went. The grilled fish tacos are fresh and come on homemade corn tortillas! I liked the salsa too. Wife had stuffed shrimp, I loved them, she thought they were too spicy and egarly enjoyed one of my tacos in trade. Daughter had Carne Gusalda on homemade flour tortillas. Tender and flavorfull much like I am used to. The Fumi is a treat for a different than cole slaw salad. Some people seem to think the owner was too chummy. Not everyone is put off by him. We didn't meet him because a party of 8 had him the whole time we were there
We ate at the high priced affilliated resturant group 3 of 4. Only Pirate's Landing was up to par . We ate here twice and brought home leftovers to chow on at home. Only one other resturant got two visits from us in 8 days, PIBrewingCo.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    200
    76
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad and price was reasonable”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Ate here with a party of 6. We were seated immediately and the server was attentive. There was a decent selection on the menu and the prices were good for the type of restaurant this was. It was a small place and there were alot of customers. I ordered the shrimp tacos and they were pretty good. The beers were ice cold and the view of padre blvd was good. Everyone in my party enjoyed their meal, so I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alhoutex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We figured it was going to be a decent meal based on reviews the dishes were about $10 and the kids starting from $5. Which I don't consider them pricey but I think for a $10 plate the food be good. I had the fried shrimp on fries ... fries were good, side salad was tasty... shrimp... eh could have been better. The atmoshpere was casual and had a good view of Friday night fireworks which was a surprise didn't know the island had fireworks. We were informed it has fireworks on Fridays starting from Memorial to Labor Day.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nosanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

No complaints here, good food, good service, reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for your money.”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We ate there several times with my wife and son. They are busy so you can expect a short wait. We ordered the special Fried seafood platter @ $8.95 (normaly $12.95) on Monday and was amazed at the size of the fish. It was fresh and cooked well. Went back later that week and had grilled fish and shrimp. I liked grilled even better. It is a casual dining experience with reasonable prices and generous portions. Best value on island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desparado58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing