We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

No complaints here, good food, good service, reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    197
    75
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for your money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We ate there several times with my wife and son. They are busy so you can expect a short wait. We ordered the special Fried seafood platter @ $8.95 (normaly $12.95) on Monday and was amazed at the size of the fish. It was fresh and cooked well. Went back later that week and had grilled fish and shrimp. I liked grilled even better. It is a casual dining experience with reasonable prices and generous portions. Best value on island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desparado58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not the best on the island.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We saw great reviews for this resturant, so we decided to check it out. The food was only OK. We had a party of 5 (parents and 3 kids) and were charged 15% gratuity plus our server charged us for stuff we didn't order. If you go, order the fish tacos, which were the best thing we had there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were looking for a good seafood place on SPI without having to pay a fortune. This was a good choice. Food was good. My son had the grilled fish plate and finished it off quick. The fumi salad is delicious...a nice change from regular cole slaw. Cheese enchiladas also got a thumbs up as well as the shrimp tacos. I had the bacon wrapped shrimp. I would rather see these as an appetizer rather than a meal. They are good, but I would prefer less BBQ sauce and leaner bacon. I did enjoy the baked potato. Waitress was friendly. Took a while to get the food, but we came to expect that on the island! Overall, good food and a good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llawma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great service and great food!! The staff was prompt and polite and , my family and I can not wait to go back and visit on our next trip down south! This place is very clean but don't expect anything fancy its all about the food here. Very, very, nice, clean, simple and welcoming place!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r0xymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing