We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish I ever had in my life, service was kinda slow”

Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best fish I ever had in my life, service was kinda slow”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went here in July 2011 and the pollock was absolutely delicious!! It was the best fish I have ever had. The only problem we had was that the service was slow. It took us a long time to get our food too, but it was worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    101
    32
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great bayside restaurant/bar”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have been customers of this place for several years, but it is under new management and it is even better than ever. The food is much fresher, drinks are more flavorful and the service the best you can get anywhere.Expect
Dave the manager to come and personally visit you. Especially good are the shrimp. He gets them fresh off the boat from friends in the business and it shows.
Great dinner for about 12 bucks. The fish is done perfectly, and nothing tastes greasy. The atmosphere is fantastic, be sure to stay for the sunsets over the bay.
The place is quaint, and you expect Jimmy Buffet to come out of the back at any time. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dder_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is understated--a hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I went to the Palm Street Pier on a whim on our first visit to South Padre Island. We went for lunch. The seating along the bay was beautiful, and allowed for a relaxing and dare I say romantic lunch with my wife.

We ordered the seafood-stuffed shrimp which were absolutely amazing! My wife and I were absolutely stunned by the taste and sheer size of the appetizer. This was a meal in itself. However, we both went on to order entrees. I had the fish and shrimp platter with cole slaw and potato salad. My wife went the blackened shrimp tacos. Both of our entrees were dead on, and very filling. The blackened shrimp were well seasoned without losing the taste of the shrimp. My fish were cooked to perfection (fried, hard to mess up, but still...) and very filling.

I would highly recommend trying this place for lunch or dinner along the bay. The prices are very reasonable and the service is excellent. During the evening, the also provide live entertainment (usually someone playing piano or guitar), which is a nice touch without being overbearing. The true draw, though, is the view of the bay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Delicious shrimp, fish and excellent oyster po' boy sandwich. Reasonable prices, nice wait staff and comfortable dining on the bay. We will definitely dine there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank bellaspasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On the beach”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great afternoon on the patio for lunch. Sea breeze and wonderful food. This restaurant is very competitive with any place in Dallas. Homemade potato chips, really good salads, and one of the best burgers on the island. Breakfast is suppose to be good so next trip we will check it out. We love everything!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing