We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 804, Aquarius Condominium”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquarius Condominiums
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed in #804 at the Aquarius from May 14 to May 21. The view from the 8th floor balcony is absolutely sensational. Right on that fabulous beach, overlooking the pool too. A once in a lifetime opportunity to live for a week in a million dollar location. And at such an affordable rate, we weren't expecting luxury. That said, it's a shame the owner of this unit isn't willing to maintain such a wonderful property in better condition. Stains on curtains, a sofa so badly stained with either blood or red wine, we wouldn't sit on it. Rust on the fridge door, more rust in the bathroom and paint peeling off the walls. It wasn't dirty, just needs a bit more TLC.

I emailed the owner with a question via the VRBO site, but never received a response. I had to call the PI Rental office a few days later to have my question answered.

The Aquarius building staff were ok, though a smile and eye contact would go a long way, the office staff very friendly and chatty, they were great.

If we return, we'd likely stay at the Aquarius again for its location, but we might try a different unit. But my oh my, that view and the roar of the waves, just sensational.

Room Tip: This is a great unit with a sensational view as long as you don't mind the owner's neglect w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank threedeweys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

While I enjoyed my time in south padre, I didn't enjoy my time at Aquarius. The building is not very clean and it's far from some key parts of the island to me. One guest per room and making them pay to have a wrist band is not what I would call fair when this place is not even close to being top of the line place to stay on this island. The staff will not work with you at all about anything. I will never stay at this cruddy place ever again ever again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hattrickce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The building and grounds are well kept . The pool and hot tub was clean and nice . The condo #504 was horrible . It was surface clean , but needed a deep cleaning and painting . Im sure it hadnt been done in over 10 years as there were mags in a basket from 2001 . The bathroom just plan horrible . There was black mold all over the frame of the shower door . In ll the nooks and crannies you could see dirt and mold build up . I wish I would have done more research on this property .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed August 25-31 in unit 603 (with off season price). Overall, it was a great stay. The checkin process was smooth and took only a few minutes. We went to the condo and found it to be older but serviceable. The common area outside with the pool and hot tub were very nice. We cooked out on the grill 3 times. The grill was gunky, but we brought foil pans to cook on. We did not cook in the unit.
We found the door locks were a bit rickety, but the deadbolt was in good shape. The view from the balcony is great! The size of the balcony was pretty good for 3 people to sit in a row and look out on the gulf. The living room is kind of small and only seats up to 4 people comfortably. The TVs in the unit are old (CRTs), The bedrooms were nice, yet small, even though it seemed like you were in a concrete box. There were no windows, but some had some privacy glass blocks to let light in. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen is a little old, but serviceable. The microwave, dishwasher, fridge and coffee maker worked. There is a blender and toaster as well, but we did not use them. We used the utensils, mugs and glasses since they seemed clean and in good shape. The bathroom was ok. The shower looked old and needs an update. the tiles and grout need a good clean. I would not sit on the seat in the shower! The sink/toilet seemed to be new and in good shape.
I would recommend since this is very economical place to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank austinamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited South Padre Island for the first time and stayed at the Aquarius condo complex in unit 506. The location is awesome! The complex is right on the beach and we had a view of the gulf, unfortunately the unit was a disappointing. It is definitely well used and needs a good deep cleaning and paint job. The kitchen appliances are extremely dated and the microwave didn't work, I had to scrub the grout on the counter tops just to feel safe enough to use them. The air conditioning vents had mold from the condensation and looks like they've never been cleaned.
If it weren't for the location and the fabulous view we would have been extremely bummed out. We will go back to the Aquarius but not in this unit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The condo was very small for a 2bedroom facing the street. The master bedroom had a mattress in very bad shape. The living room had a couch with holes in it. The dining room table had 2good chairs. No hot water. Do not stay in this condo #508.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diangoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days and we have to say it was a very good experience. The condo was clean and tidy with all amenities as described by South Padre Island Rentals. We had minor problem with a clogged lavatory sink and bad shower head and the rental agency sent someone right over to take care of it. Housekeeping personnel were more than helpful. The pool was clean and the common areas were kept up nicely. Beach access and balcony view was perfect. We stayed in 906 and then moved to 905 extending our stay. Have to say that 905's appliances need replacing while 906's were nice and up to date. South Padre Island Rentals people were helpful with anything we asked. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Isla Grand Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
231 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Condominiums

Address: 2000 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6838
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Specialty Lodging in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Aquarius Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing