We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Roadside Hotel”
Review of Comfort Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sonora
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2009

The Comfort Inn is your standard roadside hotel found along the interstates. By this I mean, that it is a cookie cutter kind of place---no elevators, exterior corridors, predictable room layout. But that's ok---what matters most is that it is a clean, comfortable place. In fact, my husband thought of all the hotels we stayed at on our recent roadtrip, this Comfort Inn had the most comfortable beds.

The room is spare. You enter, and like most roadside hotels, the bed, table, chair and nightstands are on one side of the room while the TV , refrigerator and microwave are on the other side. The closet has plenty of hangers and storage space but no door. We found it peculiar that the bathtub was so deep to the point that getting in and out was a bit difficult. There is a grab bar but it is oddly located---next to the tub faucet.

We were quite impressed with the free full breakfast. On checkout day, we woke up later than we would have liked with only a half hour to spare before breakfast ended. We got there 15 minutes before breakfast ended and found only a small amount of dried out scrambled eggs left. So, we figured, that's what we get for sleeping late---our fault. However, the breakfast attendant brough out fresh eggs, sausage and bacon! We were pleasantly surprised! In fact, this free breakfast was one of---if not the best--breakfast we've had.

Would we stay here again should we pass this way again? Certainly! It had easy access on and off the interstate plus places to get gas and snacks.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here overnight on the way to Big Bend National Park. The rooms were pretty good for a roadside hotel - no complaints there. Breakfast was included - and there was plenty to choose from. Overall very happy with the stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank smp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

I stayed here after a horrible experience in nearby Ozona. By comparison, this place was a 5 Diamond Hotel. The rooms appear new, and were clean. Housekeeping was attentive, and the rooms were reasonably large.

The breakfast was great, and had a lot of choices of high-quality items.

My only complaints are:

Rooms need better lighting.
No interior access to rooms.
Lack of attention to common-area garbage bins; were not emptied in a timely manner (not at all, in fact)
Lack of attention to the mounds of cigarette butts and other trash in the parking lot, which was not picked-up.
Brusque remarks front the check-in clerk to calm, legitimate questions.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gideon_Krasmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The Comfort Inn company should send all their trainees to this site to see how an efficient, customer-friendly motel is run. I've been to a lot of Comfort Inns across the US, and this is the BEST. The service was exceptional, the rooms incredibly clean and free from mold, the furnishings great and the bed unbeliveably comfortable.

The only drawback is the external entrance to rooms. Not much can be done about this, but, in today's world, this is an important security issue. However, it in no way detracts from the other positives.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank newdesertred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

I've stayed in all of the Sonora motels while visiting family in the area. Was absolutely thrilled when Comfort Inn opened a couple of years ago. It's always clean and well maintained, with helpful staff on both the phone and in person.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ssjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

A pleasant staff checked us in and out and recommended a good chicken fried steak at a neighboring restaurant. The room was clean and well-stocked, and the grounds were cared for. We were impressed with the selection of the breakfast buffet.

Sonora is a quaint little town. Although just passing through this time, we hope to see more of it next time around. We were definitely happy with the location and overall stay at this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Plan_Ahead_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel one night, en route to far West Texas. The hotel has a very friendly staff, the most comfortable beds, and is very convenient to I-10. On our return through Sonora, we decided to spend another night there, rather than stretch our trip out too much. We found a great restaurant (Taco Grill - across the street) and Eaton Hill Sanctuary. This hotel provided all of the conveniences of home. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trvl4fun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sonora

Address: 311 Highway 277 N, Sonora, TX 76950-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sonora
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: $80 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sonora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing