We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very expensive for its location and its comfort. Not the best hotel, but still it is one of the few places to stay in the area.

If you need a hotel in the area it is a decent place to stay, very far till the next nice hotels.

Also had the breakfast and was not impressed. Eggs where were tough, orange juice kinda nasty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    78
    57
    25
    9
See reviews for
105
71
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I most often stay at Best Westerns, 30+ nights a year. While this hotel wasn't the worst, it's certainly in the lower third. Bathroom wasn’t sufficiently clean and décor was just OK. They’re not dog friendly. The best, as usual with Best Western, was quite good. An OK stay for traveling, but not great. Certainly not the “Best” Best Western.

Room Tip: Not Dog Friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I most often stay at Best Westerns, 30+ nights a year. While this hotel wasn't the worst, it's certainly in the lower third. Bathroom wasn’t sufficiently clean and décor was just OK. They’re not dog friendly. The best, as usual with Best Western, was quite good. An OK stay for traveling, but not great. Certainly not the “Best” Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The night staff was very friendly and helpful the room was detached from main hotel in the back the room could use a good vacuum but the breeding was clean we checked for bed bugs as we do at all hotels didn't have any how ever my family and I all woke with Welps on our body not sure the cause the day staff was very rude and demanded that we get out if we are not staying another night cause we missed there 11am check out witch was strange all other best westerns it noon that we stayed at I guess for a late night check in with little options in the middle of nowhere it worked

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainair, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

While the price was outrageous for a hotel in the middle of nowhere, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the bedding, the bed itself, the size of the room and a good breakfast. There was also a microwave and refrigerator/freezer. The bath supplies were sufficient and the towels were great. The Mexican restaurant next door was open so we were able to get dinner.The person taking the breakfast order was, however, pretty grouchy though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had to stay at this hotel both going to Temple, TX and returning back to Tucson. I would never stay at this hotel but it is the only place in that entire area who will accept small dogs. I was hoping this time I'd have a decent experience. I got to the room hot & tired after driving a long way. I went to take a shower to find only one each bath towel, hand & wash cloth. The worse part was the bath towel was ragged down one seam. I called the office for more towels. I told the young gal who brought the towels to please do not put that towel back in the laundry for some other customer to get. She gave me a dirty look like what a bi.....! Her attitude was like putting salt in an open wound. All of their amenities are all outdated...old TV, etc. I stay at a lovely hotel in El Paso that is way cheaper than this hotel. They hurt Best Western's image!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonora hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sonora
Comfort Inn Sonora
#2 of 4 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Sonora Devils River
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn
Address: 270 Highway 277 N, Sonora, TX 76950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in Sonora, Texas offers free hot breakfast with eggs made to order, free Internet access, seasonal outdoor pool, large truck parking area, a true, southwest Texas Favorite! This is the ideal lodging for both leisure and business travelers. Hotel guests will experience superior customer service and graceful accommodations while traveling along the Interstate 10 corridor between El Paso and Houston. Popular local attractions near the hotel include the famous Caverns of Sonora, Lake Amistad, Devil's River State Natural Area and Ft. McKavett State Historic Park. Each guest room at the Sonora Inn features cable television with four HBO(R) channels, free high-speed Internet access, as well as a microwave and refrigerator for in room snacks. A complimentary full, hot breakfast with eggs made to order is offered each morning. Additional amenities include a seasonal, outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility and free parking. Come see why this hotel is a winner of Best Western's Director's Award. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing