We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sonora Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
valann38
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We asked after we were given a smoking room if we could have a non smoking room. The hotel was only about half full. It they refused to change our room. Also the sink didn't drain and the toilet wouldn't flush. The only good thing was breakfast which was excellent. Staff were friendly but could not be very helpful. Not up to Best Western standards.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veglover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    61
    27
    10
See reviews for
111
77
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Put in smoking room which had a strong cigar smell which permiated through our luggage and clothing. Asked for a dog friendly room and was put in a second floor room and when we took the dogs out at night, no outside lights on. No street lights either. Almost fell down the stairs in the dark. Never complained about a hotel before and this is our 9th best western stay in 2012 and I think we should have been treated better when we asked to change rooms

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

$110 for one night in an ole 1960 type room is way over the top. Price is at it is as oil riggers live here in the motel . For the poor travelers that come thru it is a rip. Love Best Western and use them most of the time but give us poor average people a break.......This sucks. Sorry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierranocalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed one night, Sept 21, 2012 when we visited the Sonora Caverns. The caves a beautiful and a most see. The hotel provides a discount card for the caves, so be sure to ask about it. There is a very good Mexican food restaurant next door.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The TV in our room as a flat screen. The young lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She is the one that gave us the discount cards for the cave. They serve a very good breakfast with a person actually cooking eggs to your choosing and pancakes. They were out of pancakes when we got there. The inn appeared to be completely booked that night. It was a Friday night, and breakfast was Saturday. I do not know if they have a cook every day.
The room price was a little high, but it seems like all the inns in all towns on the I10 stretch through Texas are a little pricey for being out in the middle of nowhere. I guess that is why they are pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 210SATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

... but still somewhat depressing. Another one-night stop of the cross-country drive. Breakfast was just as SB-Home described, but tasteless and unhealthy. Next time I'll drive the extra couple of hours to a nicer destination (Fredricksburg or Marfa).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwhized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO RANCHO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Really could not believe this motel charged $216.00 a night for two rooms, one for one person, and one for two people both with the AARP discount in the middle of the week. The rooms were clean enough, but need to be updated. The rooms open to the outside, no elevator to the second floor. Old style tv's that we could not set the closed captioning. A construction crew had people barbequing & partying in the parking lot until midnight, very noisy. The free breakfast was a flat omelet (not fluffy) that you could order with a couple of choices of ingredients. Not great in my opinion. Would not stay here again and cannot recommend it to anyone for these prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

One night stop of the trip across country. Very clean, which is highest on my list of necessities. Quiet room, comfortable beds. Did not use the pool, but it looked very clean, but basic. Air conditioning worked well.
Great free breakfast, made to order eggs, omelets, pancakes, etc. Fresh fruit. Good stop for passing through, but rather pricey - $106 for 2 adults, 2 queen beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SB-Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Sonora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonora Inn

Property: Best Western Sonora Inn
Address: 270 Highway 277 N, Sonora, TX 76950-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sonora Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in Sonora, Texas offers free hot breakfast with eggs made to order, free Internet access, seasonal outdoor pool, large truck parking area, a true, southwest Texas Favorite! This is the ideal lodging for both leisure and business travelers. Hotel guests will experience superior customer service and graceful accommodations while traveling along the Interstate 10 corridor between El Paso and Houston. Popular local attractions near the hotel include the famous Caverns of Sonora, Lake Amistad, Devil's River State Natural Area and Ft. McKavett State Historic Park. Each guest room at the Sonora Inn features cable television with four HBO(R) channels, free high-speed Internet access, as well as a microwave and refrigerator for in room snacks. A complimentary full, hot breakfast with eggs made to order is offered each morning. Additional amenities include a seasonal, outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility and free parking. Come see why this hotel is a winner of Best Western's Director's Award. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sonora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing