We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Place at the Right Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Sonora Devils River
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Spring
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right Place at the Right Time”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were on our way to Sedona AZ from Houston and had intended to drive to Fort Stockton. We were just a couple of miles from Sonora when the rain started freezing on the windshield. I told my wife to pull off at the next exit because I did not feel it safe to drive any further. We are members of Wyndham rewards so I was happy to see the Days Inn as soon as we exited.
Everything was good at the motel. There is a restaurant onsite that serves home style cooking and that is where you get your breakfast (included). We had bacon, eggs and toast instead of the usual pastry or waffle. The only concern we had was when one of our neighbors fired up a grill under the covered porch, probably against fire code. Anyway, they didn't burn the place down so everything was good. Oh, almost forgot, when we came out the next morning there was an eighteen wheeler on it's side in front of the motel blocking the freeway. We were so glad we had stopped in Sonora for the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    65
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
73
58
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The recommendation is to go to the hotel called ECONOMY hotel which is located off the same exit as Days Inn (exit 400) except a few blocks south of I-10. Days Inn is north of I-10 off exit #400. The economy motel is as old as the Days Inn but is $50 cheaper, smaller, quieter, closer to food choices, and all the rooms are on the bottom floor. The economy hotel's price is without breakfast but there's fast food options at exit # 400. Pay $50 at the economy and $5 for breakfast at a fast food place and save $45. Back to the review. Days Inn walk-in rate is $99. The online rate through booking.com or priceline.com is $79. The hotel offers "breakfast". The "breakfast" is a voucher for the Sutton steakhouse next door, given in the morning upon presentation of roomkey. The restaurant charges for EVERY SINGLE SUBSTITUTION. The menu is limited to oatmeal and 1 slice of white bread or 2 eggs 1 sausage link and 1 slice white bread or 1 cold hard biscuit with something I cannot remember right now. Hot tea rather than coffee is $2 because only coffee is on the menu. Apple juice rather than orange is $2 because only orange is on the menu. White bread is the toast and a substitution costs $3.50 even if it is a biscuit which is offered on the limited menu but only with the #3 breakfast. The white bread is "buttered" with oil (butter flavored and colored) which is the same oil that the cooks use on the flat grill. The Days Inn is old. The mud clumps with hay that litter the entry ways of the rooms indicate that the majority of its traffic is farm workers. The bed had 5 very fluffy pillows and 1 old pillow. The bed was king size and comfortable. The bathroom has very hot water, shampoo and bar soap (no conditioner - no lotion). There is a table and two chairs, a second long side table and two nightstands which offer ample options to place suitcases or bags. The bathroom vent's motor struggles and clicks but does not vent. The hole in the carpet in the bathroom needs replacing rather than covered up with white putty as it is in the picture. The room was vacuumed, counters were wiped, washcloths had dark stains, and bathmat had little sprinklings of "fresh dirt" on it. The room was large. There is a microwave and a refrigerator in the room. Coffee and hot tea (regular and d-caf twinnings) packets are provided in room. Days Inn provides a fenced pet walking / dog run area on the west side of the property with plastic bags for poop. Stay at the economy motel and eat in Junction if heading east or in Fort Stockton if heading west. These two cities are an hour from Sonora.

Room Tip: Only 1 food option next door. Slamming doors and motors running are par for the course with the thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epictetus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Dirty floors, basin, tub; mildew on shower curtain. Intolerable noise from AC unit. Have slept in cleaner, quieter hunting camps. But, the real complimentary breakfast served next door almost made up for room faults. Good food & great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My mother and I checked in and immediately found pubic hairs in the shower - several of them! But worse than that, we were woken up at 12:30 in the morning when a man used a key provided to him by the staff to enter our room. Luckily the chain was on, but there were only 3 or 4 other cars in the parking lot and the staff stated it was a computer glitch and they gave the man the key to our room! And yet even worse, they stated they would only give us 1/2 off the room since we stayed the night. It was 12:30 a.m., where were we supposed to go? The manager would not even speak to us regarding the situation. AWFUL customer service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Sonora Devils River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sonora Devils River

Property: Days Inn Sonora Devils River
Address: 1312 N Service Rd, Exit 400 I-10, Sonora, TX 76950-1818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sonora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sonora Devils River 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Sonora Devils River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sonora Devils River Hotel Sonora
Sonora Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing