We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paid too much” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Sonora Devils River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Sonora Devils River
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
EL PASO
1 review
“paid too much”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We paid $90 for a night stay because we were too tired to keep driving to our destination. The bathroom wreaked off urine. The beds were dirty..we would've been better off sleeping in our car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank WATTS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    38
    25
    26
See reviews for
72
56
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BURBANK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

While the folks were really nice and the included breakfast was quite delicious, the room left a lot to be desired. First, it smelled funky. Like the room smelled bad so they sprayed a can of room scents. The room was a bit dirty, dust on everything and something on the bathroom wall. The bed was nice and clean though.

Now to the weird thing...In the morning, the bathroom started to smell like cigarette smoke. By the time I left, the entire room smelled like it. I'm guessing the non-smoking rooms are backed to smoking rooms and the smoke leaked into the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we were on our way moving back to California. Trust me it was NOT by choice. Once you pass San Antonio, this is literally one of the only hotels before getting to El Paso. It was 10:30 at night and the Holiday Inn Express about 20 miles up was sold out. If you know that you will be passing through this area, try to book at the Holiday Inn because quite literally there will not be another hotel until El Paso which is well over 250 miles. Let me just say I didn't sleep the entire night. There was a lizard and a cockroach in the bathroom, cigarette burns on our sheets and when we entered the room the air wasn't even turned on despite the fact that it was almost 100 degrees that day. Keep driving if you can or at least try to stay at the Holiday Inn Express about 20 miles west off the 10 and oh yeah, remember to call well in advance because it looked like the only nice hotel around so no wonder they were sold out and it's no wonder Days Inn was on the worst hotel list for Consumer Reports this year. Oh and the fact that it cost $118 but we had a discount due to AAA is appalling! I would have rated it about a $50 a night hotel easily!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

West Texas is big and takes a long time to drive across. We stayed here because they accepted pets, albeit for an additional fee. Given that there weren't may hotels to choose from, this appeared to be the best of the lot. It was pretty standard, though worn around the edges. A refurbishment would give it 4 stars. That said, I ding it a star because of 2 things:
- The "bird warning", or mechanical screech owl that kept going off every 15 minutes in the parking lot. Yeah, it is situated next to the airport (a very small private one), but people are trying to sleep and only the loud air conditioner was able to drown out the noise.
- The lack of wireless internet, even though it's advertised. Front desk was nice but clueless about how to fix this. The Deep Blue internet company they use for connecting was even less helpful. 2 hours of phone calls and nothing but "we're working on it". Get a new provider or stop advertising the service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wile-E-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was the place we chose to stay on the way to see the Caverns. It was an easy on and off the highway location. Room was clean and had a mini fridge and free wifi. That was great, since we were packing our own food for our road trip.

We also got vouchers to have breakfast to the local greasy spoon next door. Food was what you would expect but service was friendly.

For budget-friendly travel I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tejanaporvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was over priced for a week day to begin with. The first room they gave us was already occupied by someone, oops! And the next room had bugs in the bed and the towels on the bath tub contained more than 7 fleas and other bugs! It was horrible! We told the front desk and they shrugged their shoulders and said ok. Disgusting!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreman809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

A really dated facility, stayed in what appeared to be the older portion of the facility; which had numerous (long stay?) local tradesman/workers. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Everything quieted down at a reasonable time but the noise from the diesel pick-ups in the early morning was slightly noticeable. Excellent made to order breakfast, appeared to be a popular local restaurant. Easy access. Marginal value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredUSAF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonora hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sonora
Comfort Inn Sonora
#2 of 4 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sonora Devils River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sonora Devils River

Property: Days Inn Sonora Devils River
Address: 1312 North Service Road, Exit 400 I-10, Sonora, TX 76950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sonora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sonora Devils River 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Sonora Devils River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sonora Devils River Hotel Sonora
Sonora Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing